"it’s all happening"

Standard

I don’t think it’s possible to have ended this summer in a better way. Summer ’09 started with the month of May where I got to spend most of my time with 2 of my best friends. During June, July and August I traveled to go to some of the most amazing concerts ever. From Virgin Fest in June, to Kitchener and Katy Perry in July, to St-Jean and Gananoque in August… to the Old Port show this past Saturday, Sept 5th.

It was an absolutely gorgeous day for a show and I spent half the day walking around with some of the most awesome girls ever. If it wasn’t for shows I know that I would have never met them- I love that music has impacted more then just one part of my life like that. Shows like this remind me that until you experience this kind of life, you never know what you’re truly missing. It’s something really incredible. Anyways, as I was saying, we spent half of the afternoon walking around, eating some lunch and sitting by the water.

Around 2:45PM we headed back up to where the show was being held to check out the first band. Jenia & I realized that we could still manage to get front row by the side of the stage so we decided that we’d stay there. We couldn’t handle watching from the very back again. So from there the whole gang hung out front row taking pictures and just doing what we do best… waiting.

I think one of the weirdest parts about the shows this summer is just how much bigger The New Cities got in these past few months. In May when we went to Kingston we literally walked right into the venue. There was practically no one at the show. Then we waited 7 hours to be front row at Katy Perry, witnessed them play to a 35,000 people crowd in St-Jean… and then on Saturday they had fans waiting from midnight the previous night. I couldn’t believe it.

I think this was one of my favorite TNC sets ever. It was also my 25th, which is pretty insane. I sang like crazy the whole time but for the last 2 songs this 7 year old boy asked me if he could stand front row so I let him stand in front of me and I just watched in the crowd with the other girls. We ended up all linking arms and just swaying to Leaders and I don’t think I’ve ever sang as loud as I did during that song. It was amazing.

After the show was over the whole gang sat by the train tracks and hung around & danced some more to Mistress Barbara. We were probably really loud and immature looking but it honestly didn’t matter. I had too much fun for words. When the crowd around the guys’ merch table died down we went to say hey & congrats on another amazing show.

When almost everyone was gone we went to hang out in the VIP lounge area and watched the remaining people dance. It was like a big outdoor party and nobody cared what they looked like. We ended up all going to a bar not too far from the Old Port for a few hours & had some drinks. We also got to see a friend that we hadn’t seen in MONTHS and I was so happy to get to spend a few hours with him. We ended up getting to bed a little after 2am after a pretty memorable 16 hours downtown. ❤


Like last summer, this year is going to stick with me for a really long time. From the shows I’ve attended to the people I’ve met and even all the other get-togethers I had with friends it’s been a really amazing year. I’m feeling pretty confident about going back to school even though I know it’s going to be incredibly hard to get back into the swing of things. I have one more day off to get my things together & be ready for University. I definitely needed one last night like Saturday before starting fresh at Concordia. Even with school though I know that there are a ton more amazing shows coming in the next few months and I absolutely can’t wait.

Next Saturday should be unforgettable!

.

Leave a Reply

