Montmagny. Toronto.

Standard
“its like falling in love all over again every single time. its always worth it.”

This weekend was… beyond words. There are no words. It really is like falling in love all over again ever single time. 20+ hours of traveling by car & bus & only about 10 combined hours of sleep in 3 days later and I can’t believe it’s all over.

I don’t think I can begin to describe either of the two days I spent away from home. Some shows are easier then others to keep a memory of… but this weekend was so much about the music & the passion of it all that nothing else mattered to us. I got to spend over 50 straight hours with some of my best friends and together we did some amazing things. That’s what it comes down to.

On Friday Jenn, Jenia & I left downtown at 12:30 and drove up to Montmagny in 4 hours. It was pouring rain when we got there so we sat in Jenn’s car in the parking lot for at least 2 hours before having a healthy dinner at McDonalds & then eventually making our way into the 4,000+ person lineup. We managed to keep ourselves highly entertained most of the time with texts & our usual amount of crazy until we finally made it inside the arena at 7:15PM. We watched TNC perform their new set for the first time and we were all incredibly blown away by how amazing they were. It’s only been a month since the last time I saw the guys perform but I really missed it. I don’t know why but every single time I see them I’m happy. I just…am

After their set was over we hung around for a little while & watched a few Simple Plan songs before heading out at 9:30PM for the 4 hour drive back home. After getting slightly lost we managed to get back to Jenia’s for 2AM & probably fell asleep closer to 3AM.

We then got a rude awakening with my alarm at 6:45 and we had to throw clothes on and get ourselves to the bus terminal for 8. We met Laura there & waited for our (late) bus and then sat through another 6.5 hour drive to Toronto.

Once checked into our hotel and all dressed to go, we cabbed to the venue for the night’s show, Sound Academy, and got in line from 4PM until doors opened at 7PM.

The show started with The Mission District at 8PM who were really great live & we sang like CRAZY to ‘So Over You’, then we had to stand through Carly Rae Jepsen wearing no pants before finally, FINALLY The New Cities came on. Maybe it was the lack of sleep, or combined hours of traveling… or just the amazing atmosphere of the show… But it was a seriously amazing set. It’s weird, but every time they come onstage I forget how obnoxious we get… It’s gotten worse over the years but we just danced and jumped like there was no tomorrow. Seriously good times.

After TNC’s set we got out of the crowd because everyone was going crazy for Mariana’s Trench. We walked around a bit and watched the show from a few different places… but I think some of the most memorable moments of their sets had to include when Josh Ramsay sat with his guitar and sang ‘Good To You’. Without saying a thing to one another we just all grabbed each others arms, sang and swayed and wished the moment would never end.

After the show, through the 3, 000 people there, we somehow managed to see all the guys. That moment alone made the entire thing worth it.

We left the venue close to 1AM and headed back to our hotel to crash for the night. It was a very short visit to Toronto because the next morning we woke up around 8:30 and went to catch a bus back home. The ride was beyond interesting because the four of us were delirious/hysterical and had a serious case of cabin fever but on a double decker bus.

I finally got home a little bit after 4 yesterday and took a well deserved nap before Thanksgiving dinner. Although I’m passed the point of exhaustion I can’t think of a better way to have spent my long weekend. I can’t wait until next week… Montreal & then Ottawa should be absolutely amazing. Although I’m going to be incredibly depressed when it’s done I’m really excited to get there. I’m definitely still on that concert high. This will never get old.

One response »

Leave a Reply

