I’ve Been Down This Road Before

Standard

It’s crazy how hard it is for me to find just a few minutes every day to blog recently… But here’s my attempt at trying to catch up on my hectic week.

This past weekend has been incredibly bitter sweet, for many reasons. Most importantly, on Saturday night I found out that a good friend from high school passed away. She was 21 years old and had been battling cancer since we graduated four years ago. She was one of my first new friends back in 7th grade & we stuck together almost until we graduated. We drifted apart in Grade 11 but not for any particular reason, we just had different friends. A lot of my greatest memories in those years include her. We had tons of classes together and I spent some time at her house with her family too.

The idea that someone my age from my circle of friends could pass away is absolutely terrifying to me. I know that she had accepted the fact that her fight was over, but it still scares me. How could life end so soon? There’s so much that I want to do, so much I haven’t accomplished yet. I just hope that she was happy with her family in her last moments and didn’t feel unfulfilled in any way. I know that nobody deserves to go through what she did, but I especially feel that way about her. She was one of the nicest, most honest and caring people I knew. I don’t ever remember fighting with her, she was just a great friend. I’m going to miss you Jess, you were one hell of a strong person ❤

The rest of my weekend was a lot of fun though. I worked Friday- Saturday-Sunday but somehow managed to go out each night. I was pretty exhausted but I tried not to think of it. I didn’t want to waste a weekend at work without doing anything.

On Friday night I met up with a couple people from work & we went to see the movie Inception with Leonardo Dicaprio. I LOVED it. I don’t go see many movies in theater anymore, but I’d actually go see that one a second time.

It also helps that I’ve loved every single move Leo has ever made. Like most girls my age, he’s always been one of my biggest Hollywood crushes. I just can’t help it.

But he was actually perfect for this movie. If you haven’t seen it yet, just do it. You don’t need to know what it’s about, that’s what makes it even better.I went home that night & had trouble falling asleep because the film played with my mind so much. It was absolutely crazy.

Saturday I ended up picking up a shift at work from 11-5 which was incredibly long. I hate working weekends, especially Saturdays. Afterwards was a lot of fun though- my family had this huge BBQ at my brother’s house with a ton of people that we went to Mexico with. My sister-in-laws’ brother is moving to Spain this week to teach English so it was this big goodbye type of thing for him. I ended up inviting Agnes over because I found out that evening about my friend passing away & I didn’t want to be alone. She came over to talk but we ended up having a good time with my family.

Sunday was back to work bright & early after a bit more sleep then the last night, but not by much. I was completely exhausted and ended up leaving an hour early because it was so dead. I was going to just stay home and relax all night but a huge group of friends were going out for drinks and invited me along. We ended up meeting up too late for drinks (apparently everything closes super early on Sunday nights) so we settled for coffee at the nearest Tim Hortons. We were a group of 10 people or something and we just hung around until past 1AM just talking and joking around, it was really nice.

This week has gone by in a blur of work & watching Friends. I’m completely addicted to that show right now and I’m only halfway through the series. This could get awfully dangerous.

One response »

Leave a Reply

