I’ve Never Felt So Lost, I’ve Never Felt So Much At Home <3

Standard

This past weekend I road-tripped to Toronto with Agnes, Jenn & Jenia for the Something Corporate 10 year reunion show that they played on August 7th.

I can honestly say that it was, without a doubt, the best show I’ve ever been to. Not only because it’s been two years since the last time I got to see Andrew McMahon live, but because I’ve waited my entire life to see him perform with SoCo. Back in high school when I didn’t understand music all that well but I just knew how passionate I was about it, it was the Something Corporate records I had on repeat for hours and hours. I would sit in my room, on the floor, just listening to the songs and taking it all in. From the age of 13 or 14 and on, most of my memories include a SoCo song somewhere in there.

That being said, the entire weekend was a ton of fun, so let’s start at the beginning. We left bright & early on Friday morning and caught the 8AM bus to downtown Toronto. As soon as we got there, we dropped off our stuff at our hotel and walked to the center of the city to get some shopping done. We hit up Forever 21 right away and it was MASS chaos, to say the least. I somehow managed to find, try on & purchase 3 really cute new tops. I love that store. We spent the rest of the afternoon shopping at the Eaton Center and just enjoying the crazy atmosphere of downtown TO.

We ended our evening off at the Hard Rock Cafe for dinner on the terasse. It was an amazing view out onto the city and the food was delicious.

After dinner we spent the night in our hotel room being complete lunatics. We took ridiculous pictures (as usual) and somehow ended up watching Charlie’s Angels and associating each one of us to one of them. I got Lucy Liu, Jenn became Cameron Diaz (she played her part very well, I might add!), Jenia got Drew Barrymore (figures, the one who falls in love with the bad guy and loses all her clothes) and Agnes became Charlie… Because he’s bad ass and the most normal one out of all of them.

The next day was the day of the concert & we wanted to be as close as physically possible to Andrew McMahon. The four of us were up before 10AM and we all slowly got ready to head out. We originally planned to wait in line super early, but we knew that we were going into the middle of nowhere & we didn’t know how long the line would be either… So we waited it out a little bit. We hung around our hotel room until noon just killing off time. It’s what we do best.

We decided to try and eat as much as possible before going to the venue so that we wouldn’t starve too much before the end of the night… So we ended up back downtown looking for a place to eat. We settled on Jack Astor’s and once again enjoyed the beautiful terasse view with more really yummy food.

Finally, FINALLY we headed over to the Kool Haus to wait in line for the show…. And wait we did. We got there just before 2PM and doors weren’t before 7:30. We’re very dedicated fans. I have to admit though that for me, time FLEW by. The one thing I love about Jack’s Mannequin/SoCo shows are the fans. They’re so calm & down to earth and we were surrounded in line by some really cool people we ended up becoming friends with, again. (At the Jack’s show 2 years ago we became super good friends with the girls behind us and we all watched the show together) So we sang along to Jack’s/SoCo all afternoon because the guy behind us was playing it from his car and we somehow kept ourselves busy talking and overall doing not a whole lot. We did become really delirious at one point closer to the end of our wait (well, I know I did) and we got into a huge discussion about Snoop Dongs (Snoop Dogg songs?) and how I was not a fand of wind. Apparently I forgot how to speak english somewhere during the day.

I don’t know if it was just me, but I was really enjoying the whole waiting experience because I knew that once it was over I’d have nothing left (show-wise) to look forward to. I can sincerely say that I had a really good time just standing around, talking about Something Corporate and waiting for the concert.

At 9PM the band hit the stage and the next 2 hours of my life are a complete blurr of hysteria and total happiness. I’ve never, in my entire life, been so moved by music. There was no possible way for me to take in enough of what was happening around me. I was trying to enjoy the show, film my favorite songs (every song?) and not get killed by the crazy drunk people behind me.

Whatever happened, it was 100 million percent worth it. Not only did I get to see my absolute favorite band live, but I got to see it with them all grown up and mature and still having a good time doing what they do best. Although I loved Andrew’s voice on the SoCo records, he’s just gotten better with the years. When he’s on that stage, everything else is lost in the world to me.

Some of the high lights of the show (you know, besides the whole thing) were definitely I Woke Up in a Car, Punk Rock Princess, Hurricane, She Paints Me Blue and Konstantine. I sang so loud during those songs that I was sure I wouldn’t have a voice by the end of it.

After the show I’m pretty sure I was 80% deaf from being front row & so close to the speaker but I didn’t care at all. The minute it was over I wished I could just rewind time and do it all over again. I don’t get to see this musician perform nearly often enough.

Today I spent the entire bus ride home blaring my SoCo/Jack’s Mannequin play list and replaying the night in my head. I know that this group has been super influential to a lot of lives on many different levels (depending on who you are) but they truly shaped who I am today. That show brought me back to everything I used to be and reminded me of who I want to be in the next few years.

Shows like this make me fall in love with music even more then I already am, somehow. After the weird year that I’ve had with shows and all of that, I needed last night. I needed to remind myself that there are still artists out there who play because they simply love what they do.

***

Tomorrow morning I leave for Prince Edward Island for almost 2 weeks. It’s going to be tough getting back into a car for such a long period of time, but I seriously can’t wait to get there & visit and spend time with two best friends.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Jack’s!?!? « I could write it better then you ever felt it

Leave a Reply

