10 Days With Anne of Green Gables & 2 Best Friends

Standard

It’s official- I’m in love with the East Coast. After spending just over 10 days in Prince Edward Island I can honestly say that I would go back for a week or two every summer. Vacations like this don’t even compare to the ones I’ve been to on a resort in the Caribbean. Everything in PEI is naturally beautiful & I wanted to bring it all home with me. I don’t think I’ve ever taken so many pictures of the view from my window, from the beach, or even of the beaches themselves. I didn’t want to forget any of it.

Standing at the edge of the country!

This was time-off that I needed. I didn’t know just how much I needed it until I got home, strangely enough. But I feel the difference of 2 weeks away from work. I was unhappy. I was stressed & overwhelmed with everything around me. I did bring all my technology along with me to PEI & I updated Facebook and Twitter regularly, but that doesn’t change the fact that I spent endless hours on the gorgeous beaches along the coast just reading, listening to music or even just lying with my eyes closed listening to the waves of the ocean. I can’t think of anything more soothing. I miss everything about those moments.

Somehow we ended up sitting this close together at the beach to watch the sun set, we were never much further from each other at any point

I went with two best friends and it just worked. We all got along & we all knew when we needed some space. We had Disney movie marathons every night during the first week. Apparently Jenn grew up without ever watching Disney movies, so Jenia & I thought it was our personal duty to introduce her to the great wonders of our childhood. These included: Aladdin, The Lion King, The Great Mouse Detective, The Little Mermaid, Pocahontas and The Hunchback of Notre-Dame. I’m now very proud to say that I’ve revisited my childhood by crying when Mufasa died, discovering my feet with Ariel and Jenn in the Little Mermaid, and listened to my heart with Pocahontas.

Jenn & I discovering our legs for the first time with Ariel!

The days that we weren’t at the beach, we were shopping around. The one thing I noticed about PEI is that they have no chain-stores (the usual clothing stores and what not). It’s all their own stuff pretty much. I think I saw one ACTUAL shopping mall during my entire stay. Charlottetown was one of the cutest towns I’ve ever been in. It made me a little homesick because it looks so much like the Old Port in Montreal… But at the same time it had it’s own feel to it entirely. Everyone in the Maritimes are so ridiculously friendly I was beginning to wonder if there was something wrong with people back home.

Hanging out on the beach

I could go on for a long time about my trip. There were lots of little moments that I miss; I miss waking up early & not feeling tired at all because I was so stress-free; I miss lying in the sun reading book after book; I miss going back to our little cottage & going out for amazing seafood dinners. The thing I miss the absolute most? Sitting at the beach next to two of my best friends, staring out into the waves lost in thought and watching the sun slowly set… And taking a million pictures to capture the moment forever.

I think all the pictures we took throughout the two weeks speak for themselves.

Cavendish Beach. Most of our afternoons were spent reading, tanning or digging holes in the sand here.

14 hours of driving later & we made it home without killing each other.
When are we leaving for another trip?!<3

PEI, I miss you. See you soon I hope!

2 responses »

  1. Sounds like such a fun, much-needed trip! I’m just surprised the three of you didn’t fight at all! LOL…I know I have the tendency to do that when I’m around friends/family for too long. 🙂

  2. I stumbled upon your Little Mermaid picture and I have to say it reminded me of when my older sisters and I would take random pictures of our feet…. thank you for bringing that memory back to the surface. (I hope you don’t mind but I had to repost it on fb so they could remember too!)

Leave a Reply

