31 Day Picture Challenge: Day 2

Standard

Day 02 ā€“ A picture of you and the person you have been closest with the longest.


I was six years old, moving into a new home for the very first time of my life. I was leaving all my friends (that I knew so far, it felt like a big deal back then) and I had to start all over again in a new city far away. The day that my family & I went to visit our new house was May 1996 (I was 6). It was pouring rain and I was sitting in my soon-to-be bedroom playing with some toys, more or less bored out of my mind. And then the doorbell rang. I could hear her from my seat on the floor: “Hello, do you have a daughter my age? I saw you come in with her, I live just next door”. I went to see who could be asking for me and that’s when I met Alex and her Lion King umbrella. We went outside together (for some strange reason we thought it would be fun to play in the rain?) and I spent hours doing GOD knows what, but mostly getting soaked to the bone.

That was the beginning of a friendship that is still going to this day. She is the person I know that will always be in my life, because she always has been. We spent most of our childhood being inseparable; our mothers jokingly discussed just tearing down the wall between our townhouses and making a giant home for both our families. Her mom was my second mom. Her siblings became mine. They are still like my second family, even though I don’t get to see them very much.

Even though I only see her once in a while, she is still the person that I’ve been through the most with. When I think back on my childhood she’s one of the first people I think of; sleepovers, talks on our beds, barbies and just growing up. We’ve been through each step of our lives together. Love you to death girl ā¤

Leave a Reply

