31 Day Picture Challenge: Day 13

Standard

Day 13 ā€“ A picture of your favorite band or artist.

Something Corporate

There are so many bands that have influenced my life so far but SoCo has been around the longest for me. I remember sitting in my room when I was 14 and 15 just blaring their records. It was the first music that made sense to me, the first band that I discovered and loved everything they created.

When they took an indefinite hiatus I was heartbroken but then Andrew McMahon, the singer, started to focus on his side project; Jack’s Mannequin. When Andrew started touring again after a long (but successful) battle with cancer, I was incredibly fortunate enough to see him play my city with Jack’s 3 times in the span of 6 months, probably some of the best shows I’ve ever been to.

And then, after officially breaking things off with SoCo and playing with Jack’s Mannequin full-time, the band announced a reunion tour. And I went to the show with 3 of my best friends in Toronto. To this day, I still have no idea how I stood through that whole 2 hour set. I’ve been to a lot of concerts in these last few years, but that was one of the most surreal experiences ever.

One response »

Leave a Reply

