31 Day Picture Challenge: Day 30

Standard

Day 30 – A picture of someone you miss.

First of all- This is an awful picture quality. That’s what you get for taking a picture on your iphone of a picture frame in a dark hallway at home.

Anyway, the shot is my godparents with me back in… 1990? I’m assuming I was around 1, or close to it. I miss both of them a LOT. When I was younger they were huge parts of my life. I saw them very regularly and they spoiled me like crazy. Besides my parents and brother, no one ever loved me as much as they did. My godfather had a way of making me feel like the most special person on this planet. When he saw me his entire face lit up and he would just compliment me on how I’ve grown up and all that fun stuff.

In 2006, my graduating year of high school, my godparents got into an awful car accident. It was the other drivers’ fault and he got away, as far as I remember. My godfather died before the ambulances even got there. My godmother survived but with severe injuries. After the funeral, I think I saw her only once. She’s never been the same person- I actually don’t know what’s become of her at this point. What I do know is that the accident changed her life and she shut out a lot of people that reminded her of my godfather.

I’ve been thinking about them a lot lately and I wish that I could go back in time to the last moment I remember being happy with them, just to remember what it was. Sometimes life takes people away from you so quickly that you don’t even get the chance to realize that it’s happened.

4 responses »

  1. That’s such a sad story about your godparents. 😦 They seemed like they were wonderful people and I can’t imagine what it would feel like to lose your love.

Leave a Reply

