2010; A Brief Review

Standard

In 2010 I created my 101 Goals in 1,001 Days List

In 2010 I completed: 27 out of 101 Goals

In 2011 I want to: Add more goals to my list to either complete by the end of 1,001 days or to start my new list in just under 2 years

In 2011 I want to complete: 50 more of the goals on this list, if not more. (One a week? Not so sure about that, but I will certainly try!)

2010 was nothing if not a year of change. Because when I look back on all the months that have just passed, they all contributed to my becoming the different person that I feel I am from December 31st 2009. There are so many things I thought I was & thought I could never be in 2009 that I am slowly realizing is absolutely not true. I guess some people call that growing up, but 2010 has taught me that you can be ANYONE you want to be. And if you don’t like something about yourself, then just change it. Make a change in your life towards becoming the person you dream of.

That being said, here are a few of my favorite moments of the year:

The week in February that I spent in Mexico with my entire family & stood at the altar with my brother & his wife to see them exchange their vows. One of the most memorable weeks of my life, never mind just this year!

The 3 days I spent in January with two friends from work at a Cottage in Burlington with nothing but time to shop & breathe fresh country air. I can’t wait to go back!

The week in April that I spent with 2 of my best friends on the road. We went to shows every single day & we got to spend time with some of our favorite bands ❀

The 2 weeks I spent in Prince Edward Island with Jenn and Jenia. I think I miss the food down there as much as the beaches and the ‘COWS’ stores!

The concerts when best friends from out of town joined in & made it even better. All those days & really any day that I was at a show is worth remembering!

The day we spent my entire birthday at an outdoor festival show AKA Vans Warped Tour, singing along to some of our favorite music, meeting amazing & down to earth artists, getting trapped in a half hour truck ride with a bunch of random band guys laughing hysterically & ending the night saying goodbye to new friends to meet up with more people for a 21st birthday drink πŸ™‚

The weekend I spent in Toronto in August with 3 amazing girls….

… To see one of the most memorable concerts of our lives. ❀

The day we went to a show and it stopped being worth it for them. We trust our instincts & we know we can be amazing and do amazing things without that part of our lives. We had fun just us three, linking arms and walking along together.

The days that I did interviews for CONFRONT magazine. I still adore my job and every time I get to talk to a new artist I get all giddy with excitement again. I can’t wait to hopefully one day make the music industry my career.

There are so many other things that made this year great in it’s own distinct way. I was having a conversation with my brother on Christmas Eve and he made such a great point; each year is better then the last for the simple reason that you get to know yourself better and life unfolds in front of you.

So what’s next? Well January 2011 is going to be amazing. Josh Groban concert on January 13th with Jenia, Elias concert on January 18th in Montreal and January 19th in Ottawa with the girls. And of course it’s back to school & time to start a whole new set of classes. I’m excited. I’m slowly realizing that I’ve made it through the first semester of school alive and I even passed the classes that, 6 months ago, I thought I wouldn’t even be able to understand. It’s crazy what you can do when you put your mind to it!

2010 was such a quiet year in comparison to ’08 and ’09, I’m hoping that 2011 brings a ton of new adventures with friends. I miss going to a million concerts but I know that I also have to keep my priorities in check and do well in school. In the end I just want to be happy and be able to write this post in another 365 days and feel accomplished.

Happy New Year, take a few minutes to appreciate all the amazing things you did this year!

3 responses »

  1. Sounds like you had a rocking 2010! Love that photo at your brother’s wedding; it looks like it came from a bridal magazine! And I can tell your friends are important to you based on your photos-that’s awesome. Here’s to an even better 2011!

Leave a Reply

