Technology

Standard

Do you prefer to talk, text message, or a different communication method?

I have to admit I have a bit of difficulty answering this one. Part of me wants to say that I prefer face to face conversation- and I honestly do. I mean, that’s a big part of what girls do, right? We just love to talk, talk, talk. But there are some days where technology is just so darn useful.

Like those days when you’re really tired and you’re on Facebook or MSN and you can just relax, watch some TV and catch up with friends there too. I’m a huge Facebook addict and often times, my chat will just be logged in through my MSN or I’ll just have Facebook open to see who’s online all the time. It’s literally like the new MSN messenger. It’s just the easiest way to contact someone quickly.

I’d have to say t hat as far as text message goes, I’ve slowly begun to dislike it more and more as I get older. I still use it ALL the time, but compared to my days in high school and cegep, it’s not the first way I think of finding someone. Also, this has a lot to do with my iphone. Is it just me, or is it VERY easy to make lots of typos on that phone?! I get frustrated so easily. And, to top it off, most of my friends have blackberries which don’t text well with iphones. The messages show up all messed up. It’s very annoying.

All that being said, I guess that I’m still a face-to-face kind of person. I do love my technology (and my phone! I really do!) but it will never be quite the same as the real life thing.

What’s your favorite kind of communication?

[The posts that I start with a bold question are courtesy of WordPress’ Post a Day 2011 blog! You can visit them there for more creative ideas or join the challenge too!]

6 responses »

  1. I like texting to certain extent, but if I had an iphone I would be pretty frustrated. My fingers are sort of too big for the touchscreen buttons, and I wind up making a ton of mistakes. Since I shoot for grammatically correct text messages, I wind up getting frustrated.

    That said, I like the immediacy of text messages, but I still prefer face-to-face the most. Nothing satisfies a deep need to talk to someone like actually seeing them. Plus, I have sort of a neurotic thing about textual communication where I never know if the person means one thing or the other and I convince myself that they hate me.

  2. I really don’t like texting at all. Its fine for “I’m running late” or “I’m on my way” but not for full on conversation. And at work, I have a fear of calling people on the phone sometimes; I usually prefer to email.

Leave a Reply

