Toronto, the details

Standard

Toronto is definitely like a second home to me. I’ve been there so many times in the last two years I can almost figure my way around downtown the way I can back home. (Literally, I’m so awful with direction I could get around about the same way in both cities)

Anyway, on Thursday Jenia & I took the 8AM double-decker (bus of awesomeness) to Toronto for the Josh Groban show. We agreed that we’ve become so used to the long bus ride it’s actually quite enjoyable (especially during the day) because it gives us a great excuse to catch up on reading and music-listening for 6 hours without feeling bad about not doing homework or whatever else.

We got to TO around 2-2:30 and headed straight for the hotel to drop off our stuff and head out to our favorite ABSOLUTE FAVORITE part of the trip besides the actual concert: shopping at the downtown Forever 21. Love.

Our bags exploded in our hotel room 2 minutes after we got there. We feel at home quickly, what can I say?

After spending too much money, we came right back to the hotel to get dressed for the show that night & then head out to dinner. Another one of my favorite things to do in Toronto is eat at the Hard Rock Cafe- the one in Montreal closed down… and besides being DELICIOUS (and too expensive, but whatever!) it’s so much fun to see what part of music history you’ll be sitting next to when you go.

We had to take pictures once we were ready to head out!

This was our ‘We’re going to see Josh!’ faces… (I stole that caption from Jenia. It was so true)

After eating more than we should before a big show, we took the eternal taxi ride to the venue and waited in the longest line of my life to get inside for the show. We had pre-assigned seats but we were still nervous and just wanted to be seated. We were SO. CLOSE. to the stage. Luckily or maybe unluckily for us, the first five rows were apparently all the die hard Josh fans. We were sitting in between a crazy older woman who wanted to get his attention at all costs, and the freaking glow-stick community of Toronto. I have no idea what they were trying to accomplish but it was very strange.

But then Josh came on stage and oh my goodness, wow.

Josh entertaining the crowd with one of his many antics. What a hilarious guy!

The show was so fun and different from the usual because this was part of his intimate shows. There was maybe a thousand people and he basically said it was all up to us what we wanted to do. He spent atleast half the time just answering questions and talking with fans and making jokes. It’s so nice to see such a huge artist in the industry taking time to do that. The highlight was probably when he started calling people on stage to sit with him on his couches & he brought up this guy who’s dream was to sing with him. He chose the song ‘You Raise Me Up’ and Josh handed him the microphone, took his hand and told him to amaze his audience. He actually sounded like a little JGro. It was so darn cute!

As I’ve mentioned about 100 times now, he really is an amazing performer & I’m so SO happy I went with Jenia to see him. He’s been her idol for about 6 years now and I’m really glad she introduced me to his stuff. That’s the great thing about having best friends with the same taste in music as you. You’re guaranteed to love whatever new music they show you, and then you go and have these amazing experiences.

The next day, we took some time to sleep in and relax in the hotel until 11:30am or so. When we were ready to go, we headed to Eggspectation for the most delicious breakfast EVER, wow. Then we went to do more shopping, because what else would we do in Toronto but spend far too much money?! I spent too much, of course. Afterwards we met up with a friend from TO for a couple hours to shop and then grab a bite to eat. He’s also obsessed with taking lots of photos, so that’s just what we did, in the middle of Tim Horton’s.

We had staring contests… Lots of them.

Finally around 4:30 we got our stuff together and made the long (LONGEST EVER) trip home. I finally got in bed at 1AM and had to wake up bright and early for work… But it was all worth it. I can’t wait to go back- April, perhaps? The Rocket Summer is touring and the two of us and maybe our third half will get to join this time!!

On the double decker bus home…. We drove the bus! Not actually, but we were front row at the top by the massive window. Best seat in the house!

**All photos belong to Jenia because I still don’t have a camera. Thanks for letting me steal your pictures!**
7 responses »

  1. You are SO CUTE! šŸ™‚ I’ve been trying this whole past week to decide between glasses or contacts and now I want to stay with glasses, thanks to your pictures. Ha! šŸ˜‰

    It sounds like you had an amazing weekend and the show sounds like so much fun! It must have been awesome to be able to experience that guy’s special moment. šŸ™‚

    • Awwwww thanks Steph! It’s funny you should say that on this post because just a few days ago I got trial contacts and I feel so funny in them! I’m going to keep them for the summer and stuff, but I just don’t feel like myself without glasses! You look great in them too šŸ™‚

  2. Hi, I’m Crystal, I’m from Toronto and I also love Josh Groban! Your blog entry came up on my Google alerts for “Josh Groban Toronto”.

    I would’ve LOVED to have gone to the concert but alas, I found out about it too late (hence the new Google alert) and couldn’t get a ticket. šŸ˜¦ I had class that night anyway.

    ANYWAY, just thought I’d stop by and say that I’m so bummed I didn’t go but your review made me smile. Josh is really such a performer; I love him in concert. I hope to catch him the next time around. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

