Just Believe.

Standard

[I haven’t really been using WordPress’ blog prompts for the Post a Day Challenge I’m taking part in, but I really loved the one they wrote for Day 17 (AKA today) and wanted to make sure I used it! If you’re unfamiliar with the challenge, you can check out their blog over here.]

Day 17: Do you believe everything happens for a reason? Why or why not?

Everybody has their own system of beliefs, whether it be Christianity, another religion, or even just fate. Although my mother was raised a practicing Catholic, I wasn’t whatsoever. I grew up around many different religions in their various forms. I’ve been to a Catholic church and an Orthodox church. I’ve taken part in their different rituals as well as Greek Orthodox and Lebanese Orthodox traditions, & I’ve never been the type of person to be close minded about any similar type of thing.

However as I grew older, I slowly stopped doing all these things. Not only that, I just found other things to believe in. I’ve had many friends who are practicing Catholics who have tried to remind me why God does in fact exist to them, however  no one has every truly been able to convince me of anything. I’ll tell you exactly why; I will not base my entire belief system on a person that I have never met. I say that with the most open-mindedness because I’m sure someone out there could convince me otherwise, but I’m just not there yet.

ANYWAY, what I’m trying to lead up to with all this Religion talk, is that I’m a huge believer in fate. More specifically, I strongly believe that everything happens for a reason. It may just be one of the top 3 beliefs in my life that has never wavered. I do believe in coincidences, higher powers, things that cannot be explained.

Like I said, everyone needs to believe in something. For me, I like to believe that when something goes wrong (or right) it’s because it was written that way. Marilyn Monroe once said the following: “I believe everything happens for a reason. People change so that you can learn to let go. Things go wrong, so that you can appreciate when they’re right. You believe lies so that you eventually learn to trust no one but yourself, and sometimes good things fall apart so better things can fall together.”

I don’t think there is any other quote that I have ever heard that has encompassed the way I feel in life, ever.

What about you? What do you believe?

3 responses »

  1. It’s the first time I’ve seen that quote.Like you “I will not base my entire belief system on a person that I have never met”, but I’m not sure about everything happening for a reason…

  2. I am a Christian, although I struggle mightily. Not with belief, but with being tugged in the so-called “wrong” directions. But that’s a whole ‘nother post!

    I love that Marilyn Monroe quote and I TOTALLY believe everything happens for a reason. We may not know or understand the reason, but there’s always something behind it. (I tend to think it’s God, but that’s just me. ;))

  3. Pingback: 500 Days of Summer « I could write it better then you ever felt it

Leave a Reply

