Book Review: The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

Standard

Last week I finally got around to picking up The Book Thief from my bookshelf. I’ve had it for months now but the time was never right to read it (600 pages takes some dedication!) But I decided it would be the perfect novel to carry along with me to Toronto for the long bus ride there and back.

I’m SO glad I finally read it. The Book Thief is officially one of the best books I’ve read. It probably ranks in my top 10 ever as of right now.

I don’t want to spoil the book, but it basically follows the life of an 11 year old German girl throughout the years of World War II. It’s a little bit slow at the start but before you have time to realize it, you’ve completely fallen in love with all the characters. It’s also a very VERY sad story and not everyone can read all these details from the days that Hitler ruled Germany, but if you enjoy reading historical fiction I definitely recommend you pick this book up.

Last year, I read Zusak’s other award-winning novel ‘I Am The Messenger’ and it had a similar effect on me. I adore both of the books & they’re both in my favorites! I’m now reading his other, much smaller book called ‘Getting the Girl’. It’s really different from the other two but I adore his style of writing (you know those authors who write every single word with a double meaning? he’s like that).

So pick up the Book Thief, or I Am The Messenger, and just read them immediately. You definitely won’t regret it!

Rating: 6 out of 5 stars. Yes, really. 🙂

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

