IMDB Top 250

Standard

Last week, one of my goals was to compile a list of the 50 movies from IMDB’s Top 250 that I’d like to watch for my 101 Goals in 1,001 Days. Unfortunately I haven’t crossed off very many in the last 13 months, but now that I have a set list, it’ll be much easier to get through all of them!

It was surprisingly hard to actually make this list. There are a good 50-100 movies that I would never actually take time to watch (as much as I’d like to try and enjoy old movies, I just don’t) and there are also a lot of movies that I wanted to re-watch. Some of them didn’t make my final cut because I wanted to see a bunch of new ones too.

Any movies you think should have made my list but didn’t?

1.       The Shawshank Redemption

2.       The Godfather

3.       Pulp Fiction

4.       Inception

5.       Fight Club

6.       Lord of the Rings: Return of the King

7.       Lord of the Rings: Fellowship of the Ring

8.       The Matrix

9.       The Usual Suspects

10.   The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers

11.   Forrest Gump

12.   Saving Private Ryan

13.   Black Swan

14.   The Pianist

15.   Reservoir Dogs

16.   The Green Mile

17.   Inglorious Basterds

18.   Up

19.   Star Wars Episode I

20.   Star Wars Episode II

21.   Star Wars Episode III

22.   Star Wars Episode IV

23.   Star Wars Episode V

23.5. Star Wars Episode VI (I forgot one of them! I guess I’ll be watching atleast 51 movies on the list!)

24.   Slumdog Millionaire

25.   The Lion King

26.   Million Dollar Baby

27.   Avatar

28.   Toy Story

29.   Trainspotting

30.   The Social Network

31.   How to Train Your Dragon

32.   Crash

33.   127 Hours

34.   Toy Story 3

35.   Kill Bill Vol 1

36.   Kill Bill Vol 2

37.   The Princess Bride

38.   Ratatouille

39.   The Incredibles

40.   The Sixth Sense

41.   Snatch

42.   The Kings’ Speech

43.   Batman Begins

44.   Downfall

45.   Pan’s Labyrinth

46.   Back to the Future

47.   Life is Beautiful

48.   Requiem for a Dream

49.   Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

50.   WALL-E

12 responses »

  1. You’re missing one of the Star Wars movies. You picked movies you’ve seen right? I had a hard time making mine because I only picked movies I’d never seen before..should be interesting!

    • I forgot one?! I didn’t see it on the list. Oh no. I have to edit it! There were also a lot of movies on there that I just DIDN’T want to see, so I picked a bunch that I saw years ago that I want to re-watch and actually appreciate. If I’m gonna do the challenge I may as well enjoy it! We should do a movie marathon together at some point and cross a few off together 🙂

  2. SOME old movies can drag on a bit (just like movies today), but some are just sooo good, you can’t miss out on them. To Kill a Mockingbird and Gone with the Wind are just two that come to mind that are classics not to be missed.

    • I agree! I’ve actually seen both of those oldies luckily & remember them more or less, but wasn’t really in the mood to re-watch them. A few other ones beat them onto the list!

  3. The Shawshank Redemption is a great movie, I just watched it this weekend. There are a lot of other fantastic ones on the list too. My all time favorite movie is Gone With the Wind, I definitely recommend that.

Leave a Reply

