What do you want to be when you grow up?

Standard

Ever since high school, the big question has been “what do you want to be when you grow up?”. At first, it was a pretty simple question. I was 15 and the counselors at school simply wanted to find out what your passions were and how to find a degree in college that suited them.

But nobody explained what to do after that. And what happens if you have more than just one passion? What if you don’t want to do the same thing forever? What if things change throughout the years?

There are many, many things that I am passionate about. Especially when it comes to school. Sometimes I complain incessantly about it, but when it comes straight down to the facts… I love being there. And that’s a problem when I have to try and figure out who I want to become. Do I have enough time to learn about all the things out there that I want to learn about, and still have time to live my life? What about all the adventures I want to go on? I just can’t choose what to do first.

The problem with school is that they try and make things straightforward for you but that just isn’t the way life works. I know that there are some people who know what they want to do from the minute they’re born, but there are a lot more people, like me, that spend years changing their minds.

As of right now, I’m on a path that leads in many directions. I feel like there are several roads that will lead me to happiness and I’m in a program that leaves all those doors open. Sometimes I feel like I’m getting too old to leave all these decisions until tomorrow and I try and rush my way to the end. But the end isn’t even close. I need to remind myself that as long as I’m doing something that puts a smile on my face, I’m doing the right thing.

Are you doing something that makes you happy?

6 responses »

  1. With an undergrad degree in Art History and masters in Education, I obviously never meant to make money in life. I’ve always valued happiness and enjoyment in my jobs, and they’ve led me down interesting paths. And even though I’m getting ready to start a new job (which I know I’ll enjoy), what I REALLY wanted to be when I grew up was an artist. And I fully plan to still be one. I just have to start creating!

    • You still have time! It’s nice to hear that you did what made you happy. I feel like it can be such a tough thing to do with all the pressures to do something important nowadays!

  2. I’m with you on school. I tell people if I ever become independently wealthy, I will become a professional student. Law School, PHd’s, I’d do it all.

    As to what I want to do when I grow up, I’ll let you know when I do. 🙂

  3. Pingback: The famous ‘Search Terms’ post « Press Play.

Leave a Reply

