Taking a break (but not really)

Standard

Tonight is officially the beginning of my spring break (or as I’d like to think of it… FRIDAY!) but you know, not actually Friday. However it is for me, because I finally completed my 5 day work week and it was no fun at all. But now I have 3 entire days off to do as I please and I’m very excited about that.

I’m hoping to complete a few more goals this week now that I’ve got some time to do it & I realized that I completely forgot about the 2011 Global Reading Challenge I wanted to take a part of!I thought I might take advantage of this post to see how I’m doing.

The Easy Challenge
-Read one novel from each of these continents in the course of 2011:

Africa
-I have yet to pick a book that takes place in Africa but I’ll definitely be looking for one in the near future.

Asia
-I’m currently reading ‘Secret Daughter’ which takes place in the States but mostly India (South Asia!)

Australasia
Oceania? Australia? Hmm. I’ll see what I can find on this one.

Europe
-I read two already from Europe this year: The Book Thief was based in Germany & Neverwhere was based in London!

North America
-I just finished reading Looking for Alaska which was based in the States, a mix of Florida/Alabama

South America (please include Central America where it is most convenient for you)
-I’ve got Love in a Time of Cholera just WAITING to be read!

The Seventh Continent (here you can either choose Antarctica or your own ´seventh´ setting, eg the sea, the space, a supernatural/paranormal world, history, the future – you name it).
-This one is pretty open so I’m thinking something I read at some point will just fall into this category!

From your own continent: try to find a country, state or author that is new to you.
-Will do, but just not there yet. What to read, what to read... I’m thinking I’ll either read Kite Runner or simply pick up something totally new at some point this year.

I’m actually looking forward to getting a good night’s rest so I can wake up tomorrow and start crossing things off my list!

14 responses »

  1. I’m reading a Good Man in Africa now. It’s about a diplomat from England working in Cameroon.

    Would the Snows of Kilimanjaro count for Africa? It’s a short story – I haven’t read it in years though so I don’t really remember it except that it was set in Africa.

    Good luck with the challenge!

  2. I’m not doing very well with reading this year. I did Winesburg, Ohio (North America) and now am reading Evil Angels (Austrailasia). Evil Angels is different for me because its a true-crime novel, not my type of book, but its really interesting and I’m having difficulty putting it down.

    • Well atleast you’re enjoying the book! At least we’ve got all year to complete the challenge so don’t worry too much about not having done too much yet, I just happened to have accidentally read books that fall in those categories, but now I need to find the right ones for the tougher continents.

  3. I would suggest Things Fall Apart for your Africa book. It will be (or is?) a movie soon, so you get the added bonus of rewarding yourself by watching the movie.

    • I REALLY like that idea, thank you! I was looking into the book and it seems different from what I’m used to, but I’ll read reviews on it. I like the idea that it’s going to be a movie as well! Thanks for letting me know about it!

    • Haha no not particularly, if I’m being honest. It’s a humor book written by a guy who loves getting drunk and sleeping with girls and then he just wrote short stories about it and got himself published. It was incredibly entertaining, if nothing else. I just needed something to read during school to get my mind off the stress & it definitely worked.

Leave a Reply

