Secret Daughter: A Little Book Review

Standard

First of all, I just want to say that I am in love with this book. Seriously, I’ve read some good books in the last 6 months but I feel like this one is really at the top of my list right now.

The story basically revolves around two families- one in India and one in America. Kavita, a mother in India, secretly puts up her baby girl for adoption before her husband takes her away because they simply cannot afford a daughter. Soon after, Somer- a mother in America- along with her Indian husband Krishnan, adopt this little girl to raise her as their own.

The novel follows these two couples, their children and their family members through the years as they grow older and face the challenges of life in opposite countries. Somehow, their lives are intertwined at every moment of the book- one of the reasons I loved it so much.

I can honestly say I was captivated from the first page right to the last. I absolutely devoured this book from cover to cover… I haven’t read a novel this quickly in quite some time. I wouldn’t have normally picked up this kind of book because it is strongly influenced by Indian culture and a storyline that I wouldn’t necessarily enjoy, but I heard so many rave reviews that I couldn’t help but see what all the hype is about.

Please do me a favor and read this book. I really don’t think you’ll regret it.

Also, I wish there were more pages to it because now I miss reading it. What will I read next to fill this sadness!?

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

7 responses »

  1. I have not heard of this Goodreads but I will look into it immediately.

    I love reading a book where the author is so conscious of every thing he says so that it has some meaning or link to another event. That’s amazing to me, to create a story so intricate. That’s skill right thar.

  2. Sweet. I am always looking for new books to read. Or add to my queue. Currently, I am reading a book about a japanese tea mistress that I don’t want to end. I am kinda not wanting to finish reading it because i heart it so much.

Leave a Reply

