How I made a choice and am finally happy about it!

Standard

One of my goals on my 101 in 1,001 is to choose a program in school, stick with it and be happy with that choice. Although that’s an ongoing goal, the time to make my choice is finally here. I’m on my way to finishing all my pre-requisites (they’ll be done by June when my summer class ends) which means I can now apply into the business program (or any program I suppose) of my choice!

This is super exciting and I realized something really important through all of this. I’m happy with the direction I chose for school. I can’t tell you how long it’s been since I felt this certain about myself. Now, I’m very prone to changing my mind as often as I change my socks when it comes to school, but I feel really good about it right now. I’m proud of myself for sucking up my hatred of math and just getting the courses done. I feel like I’ve slowly BECOME a math person even though I never was one, and I can probably really do this. I mean, I’m in Calculus and I get it! Like, naturally understand it. I want to put more work in that class from next week until the end of semester to make sure I really do well, but I have high hopes for myself.

Anyway, I have to hand in my degree transfer sheet in the next couple weeks and I think I’ve finally chosen my first pick. I don’t know yet how much I’ll love it, but it’s a really flexible business degree with a lot of interesting courses. Plus, even if I change my mind again all the business degrees have the same core classes so it won’t be like I’m wasting time. I’m really happy that I chose to stick with business because I definitely see myself using it in my future, where ever I may end up.

So what’s my first choice? A major in Management! For a few months I was really liking the idea of majoring in Marketing, but after taking a Marketing class this semester I realized that although I really enjoy it, it’s not very challenging for me… It’s rather boring actually. I’m not sure how much I’d like to pursue anything in that domain, but I wrote it as my second choice because it’s definitely the second best option to continue working towards my Bachelor’s degree.

 

The really great thing about the business school I’m applying into is that they have a study abroad program. Every year they send tons of students to various schools across the world for a semester. Students pay the same tuition price as they would back home, but they just have to pay to live in residence and their food, etc. I think this is like the coolest idea ever and have heard so many great things about it. What a fun way to discover another part of the world! I’m currently saving up and trying to be really careful with what I buy and what vacations I go on because I want to keep that option open for myself either next year or the year after that.

I’m really excited for next year. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that I get accepted into one of my choice programs so that I can officially answer the question ‘what are you studying in?’ with confidence. Now, I stutter something like ‘Oh well I’m working towards getting into Business school but you know…’

Keep your fingers crossed for me? I can’t wait to cross that number of my list!

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

