30 Day Music Challenge: Day 5

Standard

Day 05 – A song that reminds you of someone

Today would have been my dad’s birthday and I thought it was kind of fitting to post a song that reminds me of him whenever it plays.

When I was little, I ADORED this song by Whitney Houston. I literally could listen to it a million times and never get sick of it. I also used to sing it whenever it came out- usually in restaurants. Kind of embarrassing.

It makes me think back to my childhood and weekends with my dad, going out to restaurants and playing scrabble on the weekend. There’s something about this song that not only transports me back to that time in my life (that I remember so vaguely, I was like 7-8 years old) but reminds me of someone that I don’t think about very much as I get older, because those days are kind of foggy to me. But this song gives me little flashes into my past- often the same images, but sometimes different things I thought I forgot long ago.

I still can’t get enough of this song and I think it will always remind me of that part of my childhood. It’s also so beautiful, how could someone not love it?!

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: 30 Day Music Challenge (Day 1) « I could write it better then you ever felt it

Leave a Reply

