30 Day Music Challenge: Day 11

Standard

Day 11 – A song from your favorite band

The video is actually my own. I took it in August when I had the once in a lifetime chance to see my absolute favorite band play on a reunion tour (I’ve written about that day many times, it’s one of the most unforgettable shows I’ve been to)

I don’t think I’ll ever get tired of saying how much I adore Andrew McMahon as a musician. There are very few people on this planet who inspire me the way he does. He has the most amazing story and he uses his fame to help people. He makes music that matters, and to me, there’s nothing better. It’s the reason I love the industry.

The show was unforgettable, but this song was the most unforgettable of them all. He hasn’t played it live in well over 5 years, never recorded a real version on a record, and then Something Corporate broke up. But then, he played it during the encore. And I cried (yep, I cried at a concert. It’s only happened like, twice though!) but this was such a defining musical moment and I can’t quite explain why. I just remember being there and thinking there was no way I could possibly soak up enough of what was going on to remember it exactly the way it was.

So not only is this a song from my favorite band, it’s one of my absolute favorite songs by them, and of all times. (Sorry about the sometimes crappy-ish quality, my camera at the time did not have the best filming skills, but I mean, I had to have this moment forever!)

Enjoy. ❤

Do you have a song that means the world to you?

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: 30 Day Music Challenge (Day 1) « I could write it better then you ever felt it

  2. Seeing live music is always such a fantastic experience. I love going to concerts. I don’t think I can pick just one favorite song that means the world to me. There are so many that have such special meanings.

  3. My favorite band is Pearl Jam and has been for years. However, my favorite song of theirs always changes. For a while it was footsteps, release, smile, state of love and trust, etc. However, right now I’m listening to Off He Goes a lot.

Leave a Reply

