Goodbye & Good Riddance, March.

Standard

I have to be honest, as much as I miss writing regular posts, I was not looking forward to writing this one.

At the end of last month I told myself to write less about goals and lists and focus more on other things in my life… So I took up the 30 Day Music Challenge. It’s been a ton of fun, and I’m very excited to continue doing it, but it means one main thing.

The act of not writing as often as I used to about my goals allowed me to really put them on a back burner. I’m actually almost embarrassed to write about how few of the goals I had made for myself that I actually accomplished.

The good news is I DID some things, and I’ve learned other things.

First, here is the list of things I wanted to accomplish in the month of March.

1. I did not give blood, but that was beyond my control. I was only allowed to go as of March 24th, and my blood donating buddy (I would never go alone, especially not for my first time donating) got sick and so we’ve postponed for a couple weeks until she’s off antibiotics.

2. Read for an hour every day for 2 weeks… Hmm. Well this one is up for debate because I actually completely forgot this was even here. I had wanted to read for an ADDITIONAL hour every evening before bed, meaning that my time on the computer was reduced. I did not do that every night, though I did put more time aside to read. That was the main idea, but I didn’t technically accomplish this goal.

3. I did not start going to the gym. That was quite the fail, but the main reason behind that is that I am totally lacking the funds. I was/am really excited about joining, but I can’t do it without money, and since booking a flight to Europe I haven’t been on top of my finances.

4. I did not donate any more grains of rice to freerice.com which I’m very upset about. The problem with this goal is that it really takes a lot of time to sit down and actually DO it, but I need to start some sort of a schedule with myself. Especially with everything happening in Japan and still in Haiti, I really want to do something, and that’s the first thing that comes to mind that doesn’t mean digging in my own (empty) pockets.

5. I did not watch 5 movies from my list. I think I watched two. Lame.

6. I READ FIVE AND A HALF BOOKS. My goal as five and I’m about halfway through my 6th. That’s the most I’ve read in one month in a long time, plus they weren’t teeny books either. I read a couple 500 page novels too, which evens it all out and I’m quite proud of that. I’m really in a reading mood lately which makes me feel great. I did not, however, read the 5 that I had previously chosen for myself. The problem with pre-determined reading choices is that you can never know how you’ll feel after finishing a book. So I’m going with the flow. Ah well.

7. I did not spend an afternoon in the kitchen. I have been helping my mom cook and I did do some baking for a charity at work, but I myself did not cook a meal. Fail.

8. I did not add 5 more blogs to my Google Reader, but that actually isn’t my fault. I think I added 2 more, and I started following quite a few more Tumblr blogs, but I couldn’t find any more that interested me enough to add in there. Suggestions? Send them over.

So ultimately, quite a fail of a month for goals. It was actually not a very good month at all. I was feeling very unmotivated in school, at work and in life in general. March has been my least favorite month of the year for as long as I can remember. It’s always held awful memories for me, and I always seem to hole up for the duration of this extra long month of the year. Luckily the weather has been looking up and so has my mood. I have one week left of classes and then I’m in finals and I’m determined not to lose my motivation entirely. On the contrary, I want to do the best that I possibly can in this final stretch before summer. Granted, I’ll be in summer school, but that’s a whole other story.

I think a major reason that I did so badly is that I wasn’t pushing myself enough. I’m surprised at how helpful it is to write about my goals in order to get them done. The act of writing about it motivates me to get more things done, so I’m going to get back into that habit (which should be easy enough). I also think that choosing such specific goals to complete is really hard because I can’t determine how free I’ll be to accomplish such specifics.

I have different plans for April and I’m really excited to write about it tomorrow and get back on track.

The snow is melting, my mood is going up and my motivation is slowly coming back. I’m excited to let these happier feelings come through in April the way I hope that they do.

How was your month of March? A little less lazy than mine?


8 responses »

  1. You are a reading machine lately! I’ve been kind of slacking as well, I agree I think March is just kind of gray. But here’s to a brand new start in April, can’t wait to hear what your plans are.

  2. You are indeed a reading machine; my goal is 1 or 2 books per month so you are on fire! πŸ™‚

    March is generally a pretty blah month – here’s to brighter things in April πŸ™‚

  3. My March has been hard! I conducted a workshop for the high school students at church about getting ready for college. I thought I would have more help, but the problem is I can’t delegate. I also had to catch up on work for my side job that was neglected preparing for the workshop. I had to do my taxes. I still have to finish editing my dad’s book. It’s all one big, manic month!

    I would humbly suggest two of my wordpress blogs to add to your reading: Indigo Moods and What I Wanted to Say. Let me know if you want the addresses. Also, depending on what you like to read, I can suggest some from my subscribed to blogs. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

