Home is where the heart is

Standard

I was reading Jessica’s post today on how she realized how much she loves where she lives, and it really got me thinking about the place I call home. I thought I might talk about my favorite places here in Montreal and why I love this city so much (and why you should visit it if you never have before). As a side note, I completely forgot that one of the numbers on my 101 in 1,001 list is to play tourist in my own city and visit the sights, and I think I’ll be doing that this summer sometime!

Here’s the thing about the things and places I love in my city. There are so many. I literally sat here for a good 10 minutes and made an enormous list of things I adore doing and things I still want/need to do.

Some of my favorite places in the summer include Crescent Street, St. Catherine’s Street(minus the strip clubs, ha!), St.Laurent/Plaza St. Hubert shopping, the Lachine Canal, Old Montreal, and of course the Old Port. And shopping? There’s tons of that too.

Old Montreal. I live in one hell of a gorgeous city.

The crazy thing is I feel like I know my city so well (minus how to get around it, I’m still hopeless as far as that goes)… but the truth is there are a dozen other things I really want to do. Last year, my best friends & I made this awesome listย of things to do over the summer in Montreal, but we barely accomplished 1/4 of it. Maybe it was a bit too ambitious, but I still want to do everything on there.

Here is my new and updated version of that list.

Downtown:
-Beaver Lake/Mont Royal Park
-Bars/Clubs: Foufs, La Distillerie, Pub St Paul, 281, St-Sulpice, Crescent/Med/Buona Notte
-Picnic at Parc Angrignon
-La Banquise/O Noir(restaurant served entirely in the dark)
-Visit the Biodome
-Go to La Ronde & see the fireworks

The Biodome!

Old Port:
– Amphibus tour
-Exhibit at the Montreal Science Center

I must do the Amphibus tour immediately! So cool looking!

Other Things in and Around the City:
-The Arboretum
-Lachine Canal (endlessly beautiful stretch to rollerblade or bike, I’ve done this a few times but would love to go back! I also walked along the Canal during the Walk to End Women’s Cancers last year which was gorgeous.)
Contemporary Arts Museum
-St.Joseph’s Oratory
Pointe-a-Calliere Museum

Lachine Canal stretches almost 15km from the Old Port! Beautiful.

And on top of all of that, my city hosts festivals every year like Osheaga, Vans Warped Tour, numerous concerts at the Bell Center and the Jazz Festival throughout the summer months. AND, we host Grandprix Weekend successfully year after year, which is always a ton of fun to be a part of.

The greatest part in all of this? I guarantee I’ve missed dozens of other really amazing things worth visiting. I can’t wait to spend a few days this summer being a real tourist in Montreal and falling in love with my city all over again, like I do every time I spend a few hours enjoying it!

What are the greatest parts about where you’re from?!

6 responses »

    • No prob! It’s true, sometimes I forget what an amazing city I live in. Writing this post reminded me just how much I love it here though!

  1. Lovely writeup! I so want to visit montreal now. I am pretty good about visiting my own backyard (there wasn’t a whole lot of sites to see in my hometown, but I have a lot of sites I want to visit in California). I just need to organize it. Good luck exploring!

    • You really should visit Montreal! I’ve always wanted to go to California, it’s one of my top spots to visit, I’m not sure why but it’s just always intrigued me.

  2. Oooh I loved this post! I think we might be stopping in Montreal this summer (in which case we must grab a coffeee!), I’ve never been! Looks lovely ๐Ÿ™‚

    My heart is still in England though it’s been 11 years since I lived there. I love the music, the food, and especially the history, and being able to see things thousands of years old all over the place. And the fact that you can get to another country in less than an hour!

    • I completely forgot to answer this, but if you come to Montreal we ABSOLUTELY have to grab coffee! Keep me posted ๐Ÿ™‚ You’ll love it here.

Leave a Reply

