Goodbye April, Hello May!

Standard

In April I set a bunch of really attainable goals for myself & I’m proud that I achieved quite a few.

My biggest goal of the month was to stay focused on school and I know that regardless of the fact that I failed a class, I did my best with the time that was given to me. I should have started to study earlier for my very last exam (I had two weeks to study for it but I took a week off) but I honestly needed a bit of me-time after 2 back to back exams.

In between studying and trying to have a bit of a social life, I managed to cross off a couple things on my 101 list. I managed to NOT buy any new clothes for 3 whole months, which is really crazy for me. I love buying myself little gifts quite regularly and I was losing my mind slowly. The only downside to that was that I spent 100$ the week that my 3 months was over. Maybe not the best way to show self restraint, but it’s all stuff I can bring with me to Greece which is good. I WILL need to shop a bit for that trip anyway!

Despite spending a lot of time studying, I also managed to read almost 4 books.

1. Abundance of Katherine’s by John Green: I finished this one from last month and loved it. I’m still totally in love with this author and highly recommend his books!
2. Will Grayson Will Grayson by John Green & David Levithan: See above comment. I was seriously on a roll with his novels!
3. City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare: It took me a little bit longer than I wanted to finish this book, but in the end it was really good. I immediately got into it (it’s the 4th in a series that I just love) but I felt like the middle dragged on a bit. That being said, I still can’t wait for the next one… I can’t believe I have to wait a year! Check out the Mortal Instruments series, they’re all awesome.
4. Delirium by Lauren Oliver: I literally just finished this one about a day ago and it was really great. It’s a dystopian YA novel about a girl who lives in the US where love is a disease that can be cured on your 18th birthday. What a cool idea for a book!

I did NOT however start eating better. I’m really disappointed that I didn’t, but honestly University makes it so difficult to focus on anything but the goal of getting through exams alive. I can’t believe I’m adding another course or two to my load next year (hopefully).

I also didn’t watch any movies this month and I didn’t watch very much TV either. In March my downfall was sitting in front of my computer marathon watching shows but I showed an intense amount of self restraint here. I just kept up with a few shows here and there, but literally stayed so focused on school which was the biggest goal.

Finally, I realized that blogging every day during exams is basically impossible. I only hit 22 posts in April out of 30. I actually haven’t hit the right amount of posts any month of the semester, which means I’m quite behind my 365 post goal of the year. I’m not quite sure yet how to catch up to this, and I know that when I go to Greece this summer I won’t really be able to blog either (certainly not every day). I need to start coming to terms with the fact that posting every day as a goal was just a great way to get my post count up in general. In 2010 I posted 166 times in 12 months; in 2011 I’m already up to 106 posts in just 4 months.

My biggest achievement of April wasn’t just about school though; it was about getting my motivation back from March. I was so down from winter and overall blah-ness and I didn’t want that to carry over to April. I think I successfully found ways to stay happy and focused. Although a few of my smaller goals weren’t achieved, I told myself originally that it was okay if I didn’t, as long as I prioritized my life more, which I know I did 100%. I’m excited to have more time to myself as of May to start accomplishing more goals, enjoying summer, blogging more often (hopefully hitting the right numbers each month) and of course passing Calculus this time around.

I have so many great things planned for the summer that I can hardly wait!

How was your month of April?

8 responses »

  1. heck, you had school/exams and you still kicked my butt at reading and writing blog posts! I guess what I would be most excited about for April is my foray into SCUBA diving and facing my fear of water. I haven’t finished yet or anything but I think the toughest part is behind me now.

    • Your SCUBA diving lessons sound really awesome! I’m really happy with my blog post count/book count but I want both to go up next month! We’ll see how that goes.

  2. Yay for all the stuff you accomplished in April. I love the e-mails I get from Goodreads, I’m always like so what did Melissa finish now? πŸ™‚

    Good luck with May and all your goals!!

Leave a Reply

