The days are short & the nights are long

Standard

It’s no secret that One Tree Hill has been one of my favorite shows since it first started 8 years ago. It’s gone a bit weird in a few seasons, but I’ve never been able to stop watching. I practically grew up with the show- It started when I was only 13 years old.

One of the really awesome things about OTH is the music. Ever since the beginning it’s featured the most amazing songs and artists- many of them becoming some of my favorites over the years. In December 2009 I wrote a short blog post  about the musician the show was featuring at the time; Wakey Wakey.

2 days ago I took a road trip to Burlington Vermont with two of my favorite people to finally see him live. Not only are these two girls my concert buddies, but we’ve all been obsessed with One Tree Hill since forever. We just HAD to be at this show (even if it meant missing a really good one back home on the same day.)

Oh, and also? Road trip into the States means I can finally cross off #44 on my 101 Goals list! Yay!

Anyways, I don’t even know where to start with this show. I missed nights like these and road trips like these too. We have the absolute best time sitting in a car for hours, blaring music, singing along horribly to said music, and making friends at every show we go to.

Classic road shot!

We left Montreal at around 2:30 on Tuesday and headed straight down to Burlington in the pouring rain. We ended up getting there around 4-4:30 and decided to kill some time at University Mall. We shopped around a bit and took ridiculous pictures, because what else is there to do at 4:30PM in Burlington on a Tuesday?

I didn’t really fit… But I was entertained nonetheless!

We met Justin Bieber! Well.. Cardboard JB anyway.

Afterwards we went to Applebees for a quick dinner (we were a giggling mess, let me tell you) and finally around 6:30 we drove down the street to the venue. There wasn’t a line-up at all so we just waited in the car until 7PM when the doors were about to open and then we ran inside the venue. Obviously we took about 800 pictures while we waited.

Carey Price smile #8763… We like to make fun of the way our hockey goalie smiles. Every SINGLE time we’re together.

FINALLY at 7:30 the show started. The first band literally blew out my ear drums. I think they had potential to be pretty good but their sound was totally off. It was so loud that we were all feeling sick by the time their set was over nearly 40 MINUTES later. Needless to say we were crazy excited for Wakey Wakey to come on next.

The show was honestly just amazing. Mike Grubbs, the main artist (who was featured on One Tree Hill) sounded exactly the same live as he does on his CD. He’s also the most down to earth guy ever. He spent the entire show making jokes, talking to the audience, laughing at himself, and just being the coolest person ever basically.

One of the highlights of the show for me was when he performed the song ‘Got It All Wrong’. On the album, it’s a bit of an electro kind of song (look it up! So good!) but he made it into an acoustic guitar & violin only song for the show. I can’t stop listening to it. Check out my (somewhat alright) iPhone video of it:

After their (hour long?) set we really REALLY wanted to meet him, but we were getting worried about the weather. It was raining like crazy and all the rivers were like overflowing on the way there so we wanted to get out of there as quickly as possible. We went straight to his Merch booth to say hi along with a bunch of my other friends who came down to see him as well. When we told him we were all from Montreal he got SO excited and told us his band wanted to play here really badly but it’s complicated with licenses and other things I don’t quite understand.

The three of us told him we were driving back home and were hoping to get pictures with him and he told everyone to get out of the way (in a hilarious not rude way obviously) so that we could go first.

Me & Mike Grubbs! Yay!

When we left, the three of us were just over the moon with happiness. It’s so much fun to drive out and have a show be so incredibly worth it. I miss that feeling after a really good concert; the mix of adrenaline, total ecstatic-ness & slight concert depression. We spent the whole drive home talking about our night and agreeing that we need to see them play again VERY soon.

Have you checked them out yet? I’m going to keep bugging you until you do.

www.myspace.com/wakeywakey

Okay, I’m done rambling about the awesomeness of concerts. For now. What are your best concert experiences?!

**Also, did you see my new blog look? I made things prettier! I have a new blog name! I have bigger sidebar pictures! It’s a work in progress, but what do you think? I feel like my new title is more me, more music-oriented, all that fun stuff!**

6 responses »

  1. Love the new look of your blog!

    One Tree Hill is filmed about 2 hours east of my house in Wilmington, NC. The only time I’ve watched has been when my sister-in-law was an extra in it, about half a dozen times, but we’d just fast forward, see her in the background, say “Yay!” and then turn it off.

    But I’m glad you had a good time at the concert!

    • I’m actually SO jealous that you live so close to where it gets filmed. To the point that you could be extras in it. I’ve literally grown up with that show, it’s been a favorite of mine for close to a decade! Oh man, did your sis-in-law ever meet any of the actors?

  2. What a great experience!!! Love it when people end up being as cool (or cooler) as you hope they will be.

    And can I say how much I dig the new theme and blog name. Press Play is so perfect!

    • Yeah, it was a ton of much- I missed going to concerts! It felt like it was ages ago.

      And thank you! I’m glad you like it, I still really do ,too 🙂

  3. Pingback: Are you listening? Sing it back. « Press Play.

  4. Pingback: Long Weekend Recap! « Press Play.

Leave a Reply

