Live Inspired.

Standard

“Thomas Edison’s last words were ‘It’s very beautiful over there’. I don’t know where there is, but I believe it’s somewhere, and I hope it’s beautiful.”

It’s quite rare for me to fall in love with an author enough to read every single thing they’ve EVER written & then some. I know I’ve mentioned John Green a couple times in the past, but today felt like a John Green blog post day for several reasons:

a) three of his books are getting incredible promotion and recognition at my work these past couple weeks, and today I happened to be the one organizing his section and it made me want to re-read all his books. I just read all of them within the last few months.

b) two of my friends are reading/just finished reading ‘Paper Towns’ and it made me want to read it again.

c) something else made me think of John Green today and for the life of me I can’t remember what. But I was like ‘I need to blog about him today’ because of it. Anyway.

The quote that I put at the top of this post is from ‘Looking for Alaska’ and it may be one of my favorite quotes out there. That’s the thing about him, there are basically like 83203 amazing lines in his books, and I need to find a way to write them all down.

That being said, the point of this post (besides forcing anyone reading it to go out right NOW and buy his novels) is to talk about the really awesome stuff that he does, other than writing.

3 years ago, John and his brother Hank started this youtube channel called ‘vlogbrothers’ where they started making each other videos about very random things. Today, their videos inspire thousands of people around the world to raise money for charities and give back to their communities. Not only that, but they’ve actually CREATED a community of people called ‘nerdfighters’, and they really are just as cool as they sound.

I think it’s really awesome that people find ways to give back the way these two brothers do. Not to mention they are impossibly hilarious. Whenever I’m feeling sad or have an hour to spare, I just browse their youtube archives and I’m immediately cheered up.

This post is feeling a bit rambling-ish but I was just feeling inspired to share a little bit more about an author who’s not only truly fantastic at what he does, but has found ways to stay connected to his fans in a way that I’ve never seen before.

So, check out his books. www.johngreenbooks.com

Also, John Green, you need to come do a nice book tour in Canada. I know you said you never would, but I’m going to hold out hope.

Sincerely, me.

vlogbrothers motto? Don’t Forget to be Awesome!

5 responses »

  1. I haven’t read any of his books yet, but I was pointed toward the youtube channel by a friend a few weeks ago and he and his brother are ridiculously hilarious!

    • They really are super funny! You should definitely check out his books, I honestly can’t even pick a favorite at this point, but a lot of people start with ‘Looking for Alaska’. You won’t regret it 🙂

  2. Pingback: Another post on books « Press Play.

Leave a Reply

