I’m (technically) a paid writer!

Standard

I’m not too sure how I managed to overlook this, but when I look back on this month in my life I kind of want to remember the fact that I’m officially *technically* being paid to write about music.

I’m also going to take a minute to use my blog as a way to promote myself, because basically this is what happened. A friend of mine at work told me she was writing for this website called Examiner. I was like what’s that, exactly? And she told me that she applied to write in a field that she loves (fashion) and they accepted her to write about local fashion (AKA fashionable things going on in Montreal). So I told her that as an online writer I totally understand how hard it is to get your name out there and I’d go check her stuff out.

That night I went on the website and after looking at her fun articles (which you can check out here) I noticed at the top that they were openly accepting applications to write for them too. So I was like, why not? And I went through the really easy process. All you have to do is go through their list of possible things to write about, choose your top 3, fill out a kind-of resume type thingy and send it in. They literally got back to me in that same week and my account was activated the next day. My official title is ‘Montreal Live Music Examiner’ and that suits me JUST fine, thank you very much!

Here’s what I didn’t know until AFTER I applied. Originally, I told myself it would just be a great way to get some writing published online, which it still is. But then I found out that I actually get paid per page view! The catch is that it’s a very SMALL amount unless you’ve got a significant amount of page views. And it’s also really tough to get page views unless you’re really promoting yourself. So I guess that’s why I’m writing. If you’d like to click through my profile, I’d love to hear what you think about my work! I’m still slowly working on what I want my articles to look like, but I’ve got a few now that you can look at on my profile.

One of my 101 Goals is to find a paid internship. This TECHNICALLY counts, right? But I’m not going to take the easy way out on this one. I’m still looking for something more legitimate so that I feel good when I cross off that number. But worse comes to worse, if I stick with this,  I’m going to count it. Fair is fair! They really are technically paying me.

Thanks for looking at my stuff! 🙂 What kind of opportunities have you been looking at for yourself these days?

8 responses »

  1. Congratulations on being an Examiner. I definitely need to check them out. I’m not a fan of promoting myself so pay per view posts aren’t all that profitable for me.

    • I’m definitely not a huge fan of promoting myself either, but hopefully one day I’ll have readers without begging people left right and center hehe 🙂

  2. Congrats! I’ve heard of the Examiner but I’ve never really looked into it. I like the idea of getting a paid gig for writing but with copyediting, I already have very little free time so I don’t need to add anymore to my plate.

    I’m so glad everything is coming together towards your dreams!

Leave a Reply

