Movie Review- POTC: On Stranger Tides

Standard

A couple days ago I went to see YET another movie in theaters, Pirates of the Caribbean 4: On Stranger Tides. I promise I won’t spoil anything if you’re still going to see it, but there were a few scenes I adored and will be sharing. You’ve been warned.

Here are a few things I loved about the movie:

– Jack Sparrow AKA Johnny Depp. He’s honestly the reason this movie was so awesome. He’s the reason they’re all successful, to be honest. He plays Captain Jack SO well. I mean, can you think of a single other pirate who’s actually charming?

– The new Orlando Bloom/Keira Knightley. Meet Sam Clafin & french actress Astrid Berges-Frisbey:

Not only is Sam like… super good looking & shirtless for a good part of the movie, but THERE ARE MERMAIDS IN THIS MOVIE. MERMAIDS. I’m pretty sure the scene where you meet Astrid AKA Serena the mermaid, is like one of my favorite movie scenes ever. There is LEGITIMATELY a mermaid fight scene. That sounds really cheesy but it’s like the coolest thing ever. I’d go see the movie again just for those 15 minutes.

– Captain Hector Barbosa. If you watch the movies, you know who this guy is. And he’s back in this movie, in a big way. He’s like the coolest looking pirate ever (besides Jack Sparrow). Also? His wooden leg uncaps and he stores booze in it. How pirate-y of him!

Things I didn’t like too much in the movie:

– The ending left me really confused. Is there going to be ANOTHER one? Are they ever going to end the POTC franchise? I’m really not sure. I could have sworn I read that Johnny Depp was no longer going to do any more, but the closing scene is totally an open ended thing.

– I’m not Penelope Cruz’ biggest fan and she’s a major character in this movie too. I still don’t understand if she’s a good guy or a bad guy. She is pretty hilarious though, but I miss Keira Knightley and the old POTC crew.

Overall though, I still totally love these movies & I think you should go see it. It’s not only bad ass and has tons of cool effects (AND MERMAIDS) but it’s pretty hilarious. Also? Johnny Depp. That’s all you need to know.

Hellooo!

Vanity Fair. Hi. Okay I’m done I swear.

7 responses »

  1. That final picture of Johnny is awesome. I remember when the first movie came out and I was adamant that it was going to be awful until someone forced me to watch it. Man was I wrong. I’ll definitely have to check this one out.

  2. I admit, I saw this movie just become of Depp. First of all, I have a slight obsession with pirates (this is entirely Johnny’s fault!) and second I think Depp is absolutely brilliant. He’s such a great actor!

    Over all, I liked the movie, especially mister shirtless hottie. I really missed Orlando Bloom and Keira Knightley in it though.

  3. I really loved the first Pirates movie but I wasn’t impressed by the 2nd or 3rd so I probably won’t see the 4th, at least not in the theater. But it’s not Johnny Depp’s fault-I do love him as Capt. Jack Sparrow.

Leave a Reply

