On Family

Standard

When I was growing up, I didn’t have one of those families that got together every single year for birthdays and holidays to celebrate together. My family was always fighting over something or other & from what I remember I only saw my aunts, uncles and cousins for funerals and maybe for Christmas if everyone was more or less getting along.

I’ve always wanted to have a big family; the kind that you walk into the house and there are kids playing, the mom is cooking, people coming over, friends running in and out of the yard… But that just wasn’t us.

The house that I used to live in was a townhouse that was attached in groups of 4, so we shared a driveway with the person to our left and the other 2 houses next to us shared a driveway as well. Our driveway neighbors had a little girl about my age when we first moved there and I was lucky enough to meet and her and we became best friends at just five years old. I kind of adopted her family as my own- at the time they were two children and her mom was pregnant with one other, and now they’re up to five in total. I used to spend days on end in their house because of the loud noises and that overall feeling of love that was just everywhere. I learned that friends could like family too, and that was something completely new to me. I still consider her to be the sister I never had.

Maybe because I grew up only seeing the people around me with big, loving families I wanted one so badly, but that never went away. There is nothing that makes a home like kids who get along (or even who don’t) and parents who are together and in love. I never had that. I never had grandparents who came over to spoil me, my godparents were basically those people for me but a tragic accident when I was 16 changed all of that.

This is turning out to be more of a sad post than anything, but the reason I wanted to explain the background to my small, quiet life is this: I only ever had two really important people to me, my mom and my brother. He taught me that there is nothing in the world more important than those close to you the way they are for me, because they would do anything for me. He proved that to me throughout my whole life and it’s something I never ever forgot.

Me & my brother in Mexico, February 2010! 

Then, on February 5th 2010, my family became bigger. My brother married the most amazing woman, and her entire family became my own. Half of her relatives live in Spain, and they may as well be my relatives. Her parents? An extension of my own. In tough times they are there, on holidays, special occasions, birthdays, they’ve been there since I was 15. I’ve lost a lot of people already in my life, but I’ve also been fortunate enough to gain new people that truly mean the world to me.

Me & my sister-in-law getting ready for the wedding in Mexico, February 2010!

And now, for the first time in my life, I’m going to be an aunt. It’s so surreal to me, the idea that there will be a little baby in our lives for the first time EVER, a little child that we’re all going to love so so much; a result of our two families coming together and making the one that I’ve been wanting my whole life. When we’re together, we’re loud, we’re funny, we’re rowdy. Finally, there will be kids there too. Today I found out that my sister-in-law is having a little baby boy and I wanted to cry I was just so happy! I’ve wanted to be an aunt ever since I can remember, and I’m going to spoil the living daylights out of this kid. I hope he’s ready, because I just can’t WAIT to meet him! ❤

What does family mean to you?

2 responses »

  1. Congratulations on becoming an aunt! Family means so much to me. Growing up I always had aunts, uncles, cousins, grandparents around. We’re a loud, chaotic bunch and while sometimes we have too much togetherness, I wouldn’t change it for anything. I consider my friends my family too.

  2. Congrats on being able to spoil a little boy. I’ve also got a super small family, so I know what you mean. Can’t wait to hear about your adventures being an Aunt.

Leave a Reply

