Ten on Tuesday: The Phone Edition

Standard

Questions were provided on Roots & Rings via Krys, feel free to join in!

1. What type of phone do you have? Do you like it?

– I have an iPhone and I absolutely ADORE it. I had a Blackberry for two years before I made the switch and although I loved it at first, I had way too many problems with it (I went through 8 different Blackberries because they always broke for NO reason)… I haven’t had a single problem with my iPhone in a year and I still really love everything about it. Except the keyboard.

2. How old were you when you got your first cell phone?

– I was actually pretty young- 12 or 13 I believe. It was my first year of high school but I had a really old school cell phone with like 25 minutes a month or something. I had to take the city bus for an hour home alone and my mom worried a lot about me, as I was often getting myself lost. So she thought having a cell would be a good emergency kind of thing and that’s honestly what I used it for, texting and all that stuff just didn’t exist yet!

3. How many cell phones have you owned since your first?

– Oh lord. Well I had that first old one, then my first color screen one… Then I had the MotoKrzr (do we remember the like 3 months that phone was popular?) but I lost interest really fast and switched to a Blackberry Pearl. My brother has always been really technologically savvy and all that, so I was always on top of the newest stuff going on. I was never happy with my cell until I got my current one though. Now you couldn’t make me switch for anything!

4. How much is your average monthly phone bill?

– It ranges between 60-75$, depending if I go over in my minutes or not. For some reason I just can’t get the hang of my minutes since getting my iPhone!

5. When you were a kid/teenager, were you allowed to have a phone in your room?

– Yeah I did! I was never ever a huge phone person, but I did love having one. It wasn’t my own line or anything like that, but my mom always had a bigger problem with me and the internet (she hated how much I was on it!)

6. Do you like talking on the phone or do you despise it? Or somewhere in-between?

– I actually really don’t, because I feel like it wastes a lot of time. There are a few exceptions to this rule though, but I mostly try to keep conversations short and I actually avoid answering the phone if I can.

7. Do you text a lot? Is texting/talking while driving illegal where you live? Are you guilty of it anyway?

– I text an average amount. Most people these days probably text more than I do, but it really depends on the day. Texting and talking is very much illegal here but lucky for me (or unlucky?) I don’t drive yet so that’s never been a problem.

8. What sort of texting keyboard does your phone have? Touch screen, slide out, or something different? Do you care?

– It has a touch keyboard and I’m really not a big fan. It’s the one thing I’m not crazy about on iPhone and no matter how much I use it I just can’t seem to get used to it. When I want to answer something fast I usually make about 800 mistakes and I’ve definitely sent a few really WEIRD texts because of autocorrect.

9. Look at the last call in your call log – who is it? What were they calling about? Who calls you the most?

– The last person who called me was my friend Mel, just saying hi! We actually talk quite a bit on the phone… She’s probably in the top 5 people that I talk to.

10. What is the longest phone call you can recall having?

– The person I have longest conversations with is my friend James. He’s the ONE and only person I talk to for hours without even realizing it. I’ve talked to him for 3 straight hours without noticing. It’s crazy! And very unlike me.

Your turn! What are your cell phone habits like?

5 responses »

  1. The only reason I like my Blackberry is for ease of typing. I could type blind-folded and everything would turn out right! With a touchscreen, it’s so much harder!

  2. I was so late to the cell phone game – I didn’t get one until 2005 when I was 20! I even drove cross-country without one and yet now it freezes up and I panic, ha!

  3. OMG I need to do this survey…but my answers might freak me out-I’m obsessed with my phone and not having it here in Costa Rica is HARD haha.

  4. I’ve been team iPhone since they first came out. I’m obsessed with my phone.

    True story: One time I took my phone to the beach and it fell in the ocean. This poor phone had already been dropped in the ocean 2 other times. I immediately placed the phone into a bowl of uncooked rice to soak all of the water out. After waiting for 24 hours, I took the phone out of the rice and headed out for the day. I turned the phone on and it was good to go. After a few minutes, I noticed that my lap was getting increasingly warmer. I looked down and noticed smoke coming out of my phone, my poor phone had caught fire as a result of the salt water.

Leave a Reply

