Room by Emma Donoghue: Book Review

Standard

I’ve been meaning to write a review about this book since I finished it last week, but I just completely forgot until I was updating my book page. But you guys, this book deserves some recognition because it was GOOD. Really good.

The story is told from the perspective of 5 year old Jack, a little boy who lives in ‘Room’ with his mom and only a few beat up toys. What you learn from the eyes of little Jack is that his mother was kidnapped when she was 19 years old and has been forced to live in this room by her captor.

His mother devises a plan to escape from Room, and with the help of Jack, she hopes that they can finally be free of this little world where they have been forced to live.

The entire novel is told from Jack’s point of view, and I was genuinely shocked at how much I felt like it was REALLY a little boy thinking, talking and writing. I was completely captivated by his story, hoping that he would be freed and able to experience a world he has never known.

I literally did not put this book down for 3 days. When I wasn’t reading, I was thinking about it and when I had 2 free seconds (including eating) I had my Kindle in front of me.

It’s the kind of story that is terrifying because of its ability to be true, but also heart breaking and beautiful. No matter what kind of books you like to read, you’ll absolutely be able to appreciate Room.

At first I thought it was a little bit strange, I was kind of wondering where the story was headed, but I was very intrigued and really happy I stuck it through to see what happened.

Definitely a book that needs to be on your to-read list!

Rating: 5 stars out of 5

4 responses »

  1. This book is on the list for next month’s local book club, if I ever have the nerve to actually JOIN. The premise sounds kind of dark so I was a little nervous to read about it but I’ve also heard a lot of great reviews, too! It’s on my to-reads list so hopefully one day I’ll get around to it!

Leave a Reply

