One night a week

Standard

One of my 101 goals is to spend one evening a week away from my computer for 2 months (while still being home), and a couple weeks ago I decided that now is as good a time as any to do it. I was in the middle of an amazing book and wasn’t even thinking of my computer, so I figured why not?

I spent that entire day and night reading, only checking my phone for messages every once in a while. Then this week, I remembered that I really wanted to stick with this goal, so Wednesday after dinner I decided that I would pick up another good book and finish it.

Wednesday evening I spent 3 straight hours sitting on the swing in my backyard with my ipod and a novel. It was honestly the most fantastic feeling ever. I didn’t even WANT to come inside. When it got too dark and there were too many bugs, I was sad. I sat in my living room, as close to the back door as possible, and read some more. I enjoyed the cool night breeze and did not get up until I could feel my eyes closing.

I’m surprised that it’s taken me so long to complete this goal, but I’m really glad I kept it for the summer months. I think it’s going to be easy to just pick a night and stay away from technology. Especially those really beautiful days where being indoors on a computer feels like a chore.

Not only am I getting some good quality time with myself, but I’ve been catching up on reading, and I’ve been re-discovering some of my favorites! Wednesday night I read the entire first Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants book and now I’m just reading the entire series again because I missed them so much.

Reading outside with my kitty! ❀

Summer is the best excuse to do anything but stay inside. It’s the season that re-inspires, rejuvenates and reminds you to do something worthwhile.

What kind of little things do you like to do in summer time? Do you already give your internet up once in a while in favor of the beautiful weather?

I also just want to say hello to everyone who’s stopping by from Danielle’s blog, Sometimes Sweet! Do check her out if you don’t know who she is, I’m one of her sponsors for the month of June & a lot of new people have been coming around my blog because of her! Thanks again Danielle, and feel free to leave me a comment if it’s your first time here! πŸ™‚

12 responses »

  1. I should try that goal of being computer-free in the evenings. Sometimes, I get so attached to this computer that sometimes I don’t get other things done!

    • That’s EXACTLY how I’ve been feeling. Even if I’m literally doing nothing at all by my computer, it takes all my will power to get myself away from it. Spending a night away each week is helping me with this crazy addiction lol!

  2. I love it when I find myself away from my computer more frequently… Like right now as of late. I feel like summer is finally here, so we should take advantage of it πŸ™‚ looks like you have had a very relaxing week!

    • Exactly ! Summer is the best time to do it because there are so many other things to do instead of the computer, whereas in the Winter you definitely cannot go outside, ha!

  3. Yay for goals πŸ™‚ And sounds like a relaxing afternoon with your keeter and a book πŸ™‚ I wanted to thank you for the sweet comment. You’re right that I’m lucky, it’s such an important reminder! Love your blog btw πŸ™‚

  4. I have 7 TV/Computer free days (including e-mail) this year on my year. I’m seriously so plugged in, I’m hoping I’m able to as successful as you!

  5. This is such a fun idea! Also, I had to tell you in case you hadn’t heard (I hadn’t): Ann Brashares just released the latest Sisterhood (Sisterhood Everlasting) last week… the girls are all grown-up!

Leave a Reply

