Things to love

Standard

I’ve been spending so much time wrapped up in my own bubble these days; reading, writing, and falling in love with lots of things music and otherwise. Here are a few of my current favorite things:

1. Owl City. Remember this song?

It’s a couple years old now, but almost just as popular as when it first came out. Owl City is basically the work of one guy, Adam Young, and I’ve been a Β huge fan of his work since his album Ocean Eyes. Anyway, he just released a new record called All Things Bright & Beautiful, and I just love it. Do check it out if you love happy, day-dreamy, synthpop music. It’s pretty different from what I normally listen to, but I just can’t get enough of it.

Also, yesterday I had the amazing opportunity of sitting down with Adam for an interview for CONFRONT Magazine, and it was the most surreal thing. He was a complete sweetheart and I can’t wait to write up our conversation! It was a lot of fun and one of those interviews I’ll never forget. I freaking love my job.

2. The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants

I’ve been re-reading the series of 4 books in the last two weeks and I’ve fallen back in love with the entire thing. I blogged about it recently and how I grew up reading them, but it just felt like it was time to re-visit them now that the author wrote a brand new one! I can’t wait until I’m all caught up with the series again so I can read it. It’s called Sisterhood Everlasting and I just ordered my copy on Amazon! The picture is the 4 girls from the movie, and while reading I’m finding myself picturing them throughout. They really were the perfect fit to play Lena, Carmen, Tibby and Bee!

3. Tattoos

Lately I have been OBSESSING over pictures of tattoos. Everybody’s has been inspiring ideas for my own. I can’t wait to get my first, but I really, truly cannot choose what to do first. I want something about music, I want something about my passion for reading, or writing, something about growing up. Something beautiful. But mostly, I want something about music. How to choose? I just love everything about it.

4. Greece

No surprise here, but I just can’t WAIT to pack my bags and GO GO GO! In just over 40 days I will be with 3 of my best friends in one of my dream vacation spots. Oh, and I’m going to the place pictured above- we just booked our hotel there last weekend! Everything I do, I think about my trip. The things I buy, the books I read, the travel websites I visit. I’m impossibly excited to spend 3 weeks there!

5. TOMS

Everywhere I look, people are talking about these shoes. I’ve clearly been living in a rock because it seems like EVERYONE knows about them. I’m trying to order my very first pair, but I’ve been having some trouble on their website. Figures. Anyway, I can’t wait to have a pair and jump on this bandwagon. This company seems to be doing a lot of good stuff and I’m excited to be a part of it!

What are you loving this week?

11 responses »

  1. Pingback: Things to love » Greece on WEB

  2. You have some really cool things listed on here! I love interviews. It must be awesome to get to do them for your job–especially interviewing someone who you admire and respect their art. I think I may have seen Toms and not known what they were. I need some new flats; are they affordable? I haven’t read the Sisterhood books, but I saw the movies. Your trip to Greece sounds like the most fabulous girls vacay ever! I know you’re going to have a great time!

    I went home a couple weeks ago, so I’ve been a bit lost in my old things. I love reading some of my old stories and thinking of how to bring them back to life/finish them. Another thing is old music. I brought back a bunch of cassettes I had as a kid/teen (I started buying CDs/DVDs late), and am excited to find some of my old faves (and download them). So far, I’ve had two songs running on repeat in my head, and I haven’t even heard them yet. I’m always loving Netflix Watch Instantly, my kick butt DVD collection (and rediscovering all those movies!), and going down memory lane.

    • I just figured out that TOMs are not nearly as affordable as I thought. Unfortunately the shipping alone costs just as much as the shoe, so the price goes up over 100$ here in Canada. Sucks.

      I love going down memory lane like that! I still have all my cassette tapes and I have all the music on my iTunes, there’s nothing like listening to the music you grew up on from time to time.

    • I’m actually not so sure I’ll end up buying them, they’re soooo expensive in Canada! I figured that out after writing the post. Maybe one day, but I can’t afford them just yet. Do you really like yours though? Is it worth it?

  3. I’ve been looking at TOMs for a while now but I don’t know if I want to make the plunge. I like the work they do, but I wonder if they’re too flat for my feet.

    I hope the website starts working soon for you! Blast! πŸ™‚

    • I ended up figuring out that they have an entirely separate website to shop for Canada (I’m so dumb!) but they charge the price of the shoes in SHIPPING. I can’t believe it. Looks like I won’t be taking the plunge just yet either!

  4. Heck yes tattoos! πŸ™‚ Once you take the step of getting the first one, the rest just sort of come after that. You start to realize that it’s really not that big of a deal and it’s a much easier process πŸ™‚ Just find an artist you trust and like!

  5. One thing that I just started loving this week is lemonade and ice tea mixes from Starbucks. A great way to get my caffeine in the lovely summer days.

  6. Sisterhood, tattoos and Greece ❀ I'm waiting to get my first tattoo too (probably next year). I've decided what I want and wear, but I want more than one and I can't decide which one to get first πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

