50 Questions That Will Free Your Mind: The First 5

Standard

There is a famous set of 50 questions circulating the internet called ‘50 Questions That Will Free Your Mind‘ that have no right or wrong answer. It is said that when you complete them, you will know & understand yourself better, and that’s the kind of thing I live to blog about, so I’m going to answer 5 at a time. Here’s the first batch.

1. How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you are?

Sometimes I feel like the biggest part of me will always be a kid. I love kids’ books more than any other kind of literature, I love working with kids and I love playing with them. I think having an imagination is one of the most beautiful things, and I wish that I hadn’t lost that need for free play as I grew older. If I had no idea how old I was, I think I’d be a very confused person because I think there is a little bit of me from every age that I’ve been through still in there somewhere. Some days I still feel like an awkward teen, and some days I feel like I’m finally a mature adult. Most days though, I love just having a good time and laughing and having no boundaries. Part of me hopes I never lose that.

2. Which is worse, failing or never trying?

My first answer is that ‘never trying’ is worse. And it is. I can say that with total conviction, but I can also admit that I’m a hypocrite and I don’t apply this in every part of my life. Because the question doesn’t include ‘rejection’ in it’s possible answers. That is the worst of all.

In general though, I will always give something a shot before saying I hate it. My most recent experience in this is failing a class that as a general rule I hate, and then doing it again. I failed, but at least I tried. And then I tried again. If I fail again… I’ll probably try again. I can’t stand what if’s.

3. If life is so short, why do we do so many things we don’t like and like so many things we don’t do?

I think some of the days we don’t like to do are just thing we HAVE to do so that we can do the things we love. For example, I may not like the fact that I have to go in to work in 3 hours, but I’ll do it because the money that I make at my job will come with me to Greece, and that’s something that I can’t wait to do and I just know I’ll love. That being said though, I know there are a million other things that we all do every single day that we hate. Cleaning, running errands, going somewhere that you don’t want to go; but I think that ultimately there’s a reason that we do the things we do. If not to please ourselves, then to please the people around us- and isn’t that a source of happiness for yourself too? I know that when I accomplish something that makes a friend or family member appreciative, I’m glad I took the time for it.

So yeah, maybe life is short and I do things I hate, but life is short and the people I truly love won’t be around forever. I want them to be just as happy as me, so I give a little to get a little.

4. When it’s all said and done, will you have said more than you’ve done?

This is a tough question because you never know 100% what will happen in the future. There are a lot of things I want to accomplish, and ideally I would do them all. But do I have time? I don’t know. What if something terrible happens tomorrow *knocks on wood*? I can’t predict how my life will go, and maybe I’ll wake up 10 years from now regretful of some of the choices I’ve made. I hope not though, because I’m a strong believer in doing the things that you say you’ll do, to the best of your ability. I’ve said numerous times that I want to travel the entire world, and I know that’s a big thing to say. Hopefully when all is said and done, I’ll have done it way more than I’ll have said it. Only time will tell.

5. What is the one thing you’d most like to change about the world?

I could take the selfless route here and say world poverty, hunger or peace, but I think those are just logical things that people say because it’s the right thing to say and feel. And I think most people truly WANT these things. But I digress. If I could choose something besides those very first things that I think of, I would change how the world views money. I wish that certain things didn’t have a price tag on them, like traveling, and experiences of a life time. Everyone should have the opportunity to live the life they want in terms of experiences (not objects, those can continue to cost whatever they cost), but if it were up to me, everyone would have equal opportunities to feel fulfilled and happy about the things they’ve done, without worrying about money at all.

If you decide to answer any of the questions, feel free to send me the link so I can read your answers!

12 responses »

  1. Interesting. I’m going to go to that link and see if my mind feels freed. Your post has made me think, so that’s a start.

  2. Pingback: 50 Questions Part II « Press Play.

  3. Oooh, I filled these out last year as well. I decided not to share my answers when I did it though…looking back, I don’t really know why. Maybe I’ll redo them?

  4. Pingback: 50 Questions Part III « Press Play.

  5. Pingback: 50 Questions Part IV « Press Play.

  6. Pingback: 50 Questions: Part V « Press Play.

  7. Pingback: 50 Questions: Part VI « Press Play.

  8. Pingback: 50 Questions: Part VII « Press Play.

  9. Pingback: 50 Questions: Part IX « Press Play.

  10. Pingback: 50 Questions: Part VIII « Press Play.

  11. Pingback: 50 Questions: The Final 5 « Press Play.

Leave a Reply

