Getting to know my city

Standard

In April I blogged about how much I love the city I live in & how there are so many great things I’d like to do. One of them was to visit the Biodome, a building that is home to four different climates and the animals that live in each of them.

Today I finally got to cross that one of my mental list of things to do in my own city! I don’t ever remember going to this place and although it was only about an hour long, it was a lot of fun! I went through a tropical rainforest (and holy hell was it ever humid. Why do animals want to live there?) , then I went through the Laurentian Maple Forest (that’s basically animals from Canada). Afterwards was the Gulf of St.Lawrence (all the fishies that live in Canada) and finally the Sub-Polar Regions (penguins! lots and lots of penguins!).

Overall it was a really neat experience and obviously I took as many pictures as I could when I spotted some animals. So here we go:

The first thing that greeted me when I walked into the tropical rainforest

A strange looking animal called a Capybara. Apparently the largest rodent that exists!

Tropical birds

Terrifying, I know. But so awesome!

I wish I could have brought this little guy home!

He gave me a little smile!

And of course… Penguins! They’re so fun and cute and playful!

Last but not least, there were silly pictures too! These is me attempting to look like I have bat ears. Success? Hmm maybe not.

4 responses »

  1. I think Jen is right, most people take advantage of what’s in their own back yard and don’t explore their own city enough. I know that I’m guilty of the same thing.

    The penguin picture is too cute! I went to the Georgia Aquarium last week and got up close and personal with some penguins. They are too cute!

Leave a Reply

