50 Questions Part II

Standard

Earlier this week I started by answering the first 5 questions, here are my answers for 6-10! You can click on the photo above to see all 50 if you’d like to join me and answer some of these on your blog too.

6. If happiness was the national currency, what kind of work would make you rich?

– I’ll be the first to admit that I am not the kind of person to ‘rough it out’ in any kind of situation. I’ve always wanted to go backpacking and live in tough situations, but the truth is that’s just not the kind of person I am. I need SOME kind of sense of a good place to feel good. My first answer to this question was to go to impoverished countries and help. In my heart, that feels right and I would love to do that. But logically, I know that I wouldn’t be happy, and that defeats the purpose. What would truly make me happy- the kind of work that would make me rich, in so many words- would be to teach English and help kids understand books who wouldn’t normally have the chance to. Maybe I wouldn’t go to Africa and do this, but I know there are children across the world that aren’t as lucky as I am, and don’t know how amazing literature can be. I think that would be a really amazing feeling.

7. Are you doing what you believe in, or are you settling for what you are doing?

– I don’t think I’m in a place in my life where I can be settling just yet. I think I am doing everything I possibly can so that I don’t ever settle for something I don’t believe in, but rather do something fulfilling that I worked hard for. I’m still working hard in school to get my Bachelor’s degree and I’m also pursuing my passions as hobbies and also in school with my minor in Professional Writing. I’m trying as much as possible to do the things I believe in and I think that for 21 years old I’m doing a pretty decent job.

8. If the average human life span was 40 years, how would you live your life differently?

– I’ve always known that one day I’ll have a family, but I’ve always put it off. It’s weird because at 30 years old I imagine myself to be settling into this family of mine, and yet here I am at almost 22 with no prospects whatsoever, and also ummm what? 8 years to have a family? Maybe that’s unreasonable at this point. I think that if I were to only live until 40, my priorities would be all different. There wouldn’t be enough time to go to school, have a career AND have kids. There would only be space for one, and I wouldn’t feel complete without that last one. As much as there are things that I need to accomplish before settling down, I think that if my life span were to be cut down by at least half, then maybe I would never feel like it was necessary to do anything BUT have a family and continue my heritage.

9. To what degree have you actually controlled the course your life has taken?

– I think I can say that I’ve taken a good 90% control of the course my life has taken so far. The one hitch in the road was the year I took off. That was never planned, but I think at the back of my mind I was thankful for it. I don’t know what good it did me, but I know that I was not in a frame of mind to go back to school- I just thought it’s what I had to do. I took the easy way out of a tough situation back then and I just took an extra year to compose myself, but now I’m back in the game and I like to think that it was meant to happen and I truly, in my heart, wanted that to happen. Besides school though, I have always been in control of myself and my actions. I’ve always been that responsible girl.

10. Are you more worried about doing things right, or doing the right things?

– I think I’m equally worried for both. I worry that I won’t do enough of the “right things” with my life, but also that I won’t do things right. Will there be some huge life stepping stone that I’ll never reach for one reason or another? Will I regret it? I don’t want to be one of those people. I want to take opportunities and fulfill lots of dreams. I’m definitely an anxious, stressed out person by nature, so these things tend to worry me. All of them.

10 responses »

  1. Pingback: 50 Questions Part III « Press Play.

  2. Pingback: 50 Questions Part IV « Press Play.

  3. Pingback: 50 Questions: Part V « Press Play.

  4. Pingback: 50 Questions: Part VI « Press Play.

  5. Pingback: 50 Questions: Part VII « Press Play.

  6. Pingback: 50 Questions: Part IX « Press Play.

  7. Pingback: 50 Questions: The Final 5 « Press Play.

Leave a Reply

