And the postcards’ gonna read…

Standard

It’s no secret that the love of my life comes in the form of a band called Jack’s Mannequin, but maybe more specifically a musician in particular called Andrew McMahon. His natural talent has had me swooning over his music (and maybe him, yeah, I know he’s married!) ever since I was 14 years old, and I haven’t looked back.

So naturally any weekend of mine that includes even just a little bit of him from a distance is considered to be pretty fantastic, thank you very much.

You see, Andrew and his bands (Something Corporate, Jack’s Mannequin) did not come to Montreal before July 2008. That was the first time I saw him, and then I saw him again in August 2008 and then again in November 2008. He was obviously making up for lost time.

Last summer, I saw him perform with Something Corporate… A teenage dream of mine come true.

And last night I got to see him perform as Jack’s Mannequin again for the first time since November 2008. It was short, and it was the 2nd furthest I’ve ever been from him while he performed on stage. All I wanted to do was jump over the seats and sing my heart out front row with my best friends. But instead we were all separated in the stadiums’ seats.

I always feel like when I see him play live, there isn’t enough time for me to soak up his energy, his music, his talent. I am constantly trying to get closer, make my brain take in every little detail of what he does at that piano of his. The way his seat always falls backwards when he gets up for a really intense part, the way he dances around during two or three of the songs and jumps all over the keys.

The show was expensive, it was short, and I got the wrong side to see him play, but it was somehow still just what I needed. I’ve said this for other bands but I don’t think I understood it until I saw Jack’s Mannequin live back in July 2008. Every time I see them play, it’s like falling in love all over again. I can’t stop listening to the music now, even though every song has been drastically overplayed on my iTunes. But I don’t care. Love is love, no matter what shape it comes in, right?

I can’t wait to get my tattoo to prove it forever. But that’s for another post.

Hanging out at dinner, taking weird pictures. That’s just what we do.

We were fifth row in a stadium that fits just over 21,000 people. Pretty close, considering! I seriously missed seeing this band.

Hanging out on his piano!

It’s love.

And how was your weekend? Any fun July 1st or July 4th celebrations?! 

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

