Happy birthday to me!

Standard

Every year, I feel like I’m becoming a whole new person- or maybe more of the person I’m meant to be when all is said and done. I was looking through my posts at this time last year, and although I haven’t really CHANGED, there are little bits and pieces that I don’t recognize of myself anymore. There are things that I loved, things I was doing one year ago that I can’t imagine doing quite like that ever again.

It’s a weird feeling, but in the best way possible. Getting older is thrilling, but it’s so scary at the same time. It’s like there’s a big clock that’s ticking away, waiting for me to do something, be someone.

In the last year I have become a very goal oriented person. I have taken control of my responsibilities, and I’ve learned what it means to prioritize myself and what I need, before anyone else. I’ve learned to live bigger, love harder, and laugh louder.

I’m so excited to see what this new year holds for me. So far, my birthday has been nothing but amazing (no scheduled post for me today, I’m writing this in real-time!) and now I’m heading out for a lovely day of friends and family and lots of food. Yum.

The last thing I have to share for today is the 23 Before 23 list that I made, and I’m still super excited about it. Here we go.

23 Before 23

  1. Take the trip of a lifetime
  2. Write a letter to myself on the day off my 22nd birthday to open on the day of my 23rd
  3. Volunteer
  4. Get my 10th and final piercing
  5. Confront a fear
  6. Try an exotic food I can’t pronounce and/or would normally never try
  7. Splurge on something for myself
  8. Write a book
  9. Learn to drive a manual car
  10. Take piano lessons and/or buy a book & learn to play
  11. Get rid of a bad habit
  12. Read 10 biographies about people who changed the world (0/10)
  13. Buy a scrapbook and put it together for myself
  14. Buy a photo album and fill in all the pages
  15. Spend a day with my nephew (when he gets here in October!)
  16. Get into a regular fitness routine
  17. Take a University class I’m interested in, even if it doesn’t fit my degree
  18. Participate in Project 365 from July 10th 2011 until July 10th 2012
  19. Have a conversation in Spanish
  20. Watch all the seasons of a TV show I’ve never seen before
  21. Keep a food diary for one month
  22. Find a way to enjoy winter
  23. Support 10 unknown musicians/artists & buy their record instead of downloading it
12 responses »

  1. Hope you have a wonderful birthday! And good luck with your list. I did one of these too when I turned 26 and have done quite a bit of what I planned! 😀

  2. Hi! Just stopping by from 101 Things to Do Before You Die and the first post I read is a birthday post.. so Happy happy birthday to you! I totally understand the feeling of wanting to be a better version of your previous self. Another year, another new you.. ain’t it great?! This is a thoughtful 23 before 23 list. Enjoy!

  3. Happy, happy, happy birthday, love! I’m glad today has been such an awesome day for you. 🙂 Love your goals for the next year and can’t wait to see what you accomplish!

  4. Eek! I’m a few days behind but happy happy birthday. I hope it was amazing. And I’m totally digging your list. I love the piano lessons (as someone who took them for many years, I’ve been wanting to revisit).

Leave a Reply

