A new kind of schedule

Standard

One of my goals this month was to get back to eating healthy and tracking my weight before going to Greece, and I’ve surprised even myself by taking it more seriously than ever before. This week I’ve been eating exceptionally well (with a few cheats, but hey, I’m only human & this is hard!) I also joined a gym that is solely fitness classes. There was a deal on Living Social a few days ago for a month of unlimited classes for only 20 dollars (80% off!!) so my friend Agnes & I took full advantage.

Yesterday I did my very first Zumba class which was a lot of fun but I was very un-coordinated, and today I did Boot Camp followed by an hour of Yoga & Meditation. That’s all I have time for this week, but I’m excited to see what I fit into my schedule next week. I’m also trying to do my own exercise- I dug out my roller blades from my closet and found out that I’m still pretty good on them! We’ll see what else I make time for in the weeks to come.

Here are some of the healthy meals I’ve been treating myself to in the last few days:

2 eggs over easy, 2 slices of toast & sliced strawberries with bananas. Yum!

I’ve been loving yogurt and berries lately! Sometimes I mix two flavors, sometimes not… But it always turns out really good. This morning I had peach yogurt with bananas instead, and it was just as good!

Afternoon snack? More fruit with a sprinkle of coffee cream to add a sweeter taste!

One of my new favorite snacks- unsalted almonds dipped in soft cheese! I eat it with ‘la vache qui rit’ cheese, but I imagine it would be just as delicious with goat cheese or something similar. It really hits the spot.

I wanted to take a few more food pictures to share, but haven’t had time just yet. I have been eating a million more fruits than usual though and have been surprised at how full I can get. I’ve also been tracking my calories these last few days on www.myfitnesspal.com, and I’m addicted! It’s super easy to use and counts in exercise as well as all your meals and snacks.

My next goal is to slowly cut out some of my favorite foods that aren’t necessarily as good for me like chips and that leftover birthday cake I keep taking forkfuls out of… But I’ve been counting all of that in my daily intake and I haven’t gone over or anything. I think I’ll feel even better about myself when I cut out more of those carbs though! I’m looking for any way to replace them with something else. It’s a work in progress, but so far so good! I’m feeling happier, healthier, and more productive- and it’s only been about a week!

11 responses »

  1. Woohoo! Good for you. I’ve been getting back on track this week as well, and it’s sort of awesome.

    I’m RoseBeerGoggles on MFP if you want to be friends. 🙂

  2. I love Laughing Cow cheese! How funny that in French it’s “The Cow who Laughs.” hehe. Good for you for working on your goals and getting everything set before Greece!

  3. You go, girl! Changing your eating/exercise habits is so, so, SO hard so just keep at it! I’m so glad you were able to join a gym. I mainly use mine for the classes so I love it. Maybe you’ll become a gym rat after all? 😉

  4. You’re right it’s not easy to do. I’m trying to cut out fast food for 101 days to try and change my eating habbits and retrain my taste buds. Keep up the good work!

    • I remember when I cut out fast food for 3 months on my 101 list it was the HARDEST thing I could do. I was constantly craving it. Now that I’m not thinking of it, I just naturally don’t eat it… I cheat once every few months, but not for one of those huge trios- just for a fry or something. Good luck!!

  5. Get it! You’re doing so amazing. I have been focusing more on the working out portion of my be healthier plan and I’m procrastinating getting the diet in order. But this just may inspire me. Keep it up.

    PS – Laughing Cow FTW. I love their chipotle flavor!

Leave a Reply

