Putting food in perspective

Standard

The reason I started tracking (more or less) the food that I eat with myfitnesspal was because I wanted to see just how many calories I was eating in one day, all while being completely honest with myself. it’s easy to eat something that doesn’t belong in your diet and not write it down, but if I’m going to eat something that I shouldn’t, then I want to see just how it affects me.

I’ve only been tracking my diet for 4 days now, but I’m already seeing a few important things.

1) It’s making me way too obsessive about calories. I’ve never in my life counted calories before, because what I eat has always kept me at my current weight. By setting a caloric goal for myself every day and trying not to go over by too much has made me actually eat LESS than I should be. Today, myfitnesspal told me I had under-eaten- even though I didn’t mean to! I ate until I was satisfied (I got really hungry after work but I had dinner almost immediately). I wasn’t under by very much, but this annoyed me so much that I went out of my way to make myself an extra little snack.

2) I’m becoming MUCH more health conscious, without realizing it. Although I am making the effort to eat better, by actually counting the calories that I’m eating (as well as the carbs/proteins/fat) I’m finding myself cutting a lot out of my diet because it doesn’t seem to fit anymore.

3) I feel extremely guilty whenever I eat something I shouldn’t (eg: just a super tiny sliver of my extra birthday cake. Bad!) I feel like it’s some top secret thing I shouldn’t be doing… But I’m still finding it hard to cut EVERYTHING out that’s bad. I still need my fix!

4) I feel like I’m almost daring myself to break out of the healthy diet, just to see what it will look like on myfitnesspal. A handful of jellybeans makes me feel all fun and crazy and then really kind of sickly because I’m already not used to the ridiculous amounts of sugar.

5) I am LOVING eating healthier. As I mentioned above, it’s only taken a week for me to realize that healthy eating is actually so much more fun than eating crappy stuff. Breakfast, which is now more often than not yogurt with a ton of fruit, has become one of my favorite parts of the day… Whereas I used to fill up on toast and really sweet jam… I already don’t know how I could have done that.

All in all, I think the experience is really eye opening. I’m going to keep using it for now because I’m having a lot of fun seeing what I can include in my diet while still feeling good, and what I eat and feel not good and then it shows that it wasn’t good for me. I think I’ll continue to count for a month (that was my goal, after all) and see how I feel after that, and if it helps me at all. My end goal is to feel better about myself, gain a healthier perspective (and lose the weight that might be there because of bad eating habits), and cut out drastic amounts of bad food from my diet for good. I think I’m already well on my way- minus the fact that healthy food is so darn expensive!

A look at what my meals looked like on Wednesday. I cheated a little bit and had some chocolate at work, as well as some Starbucks-made Butterbeer for our Harry Potter event… This also doesn’t show my snacks, but I’m loving mixing all these healthy ingredients and seeing what else I can make! Obviously I plan on adding more yummy things as I get better at all of this.

6 responses »

  1. I think it’s always a good idea to keep track of what you eat. That’s one reason I’m happy I had to go gluten-free…I never monitored what I was putting into my body prior to getting diagnosed. Good for you and best of luck! Don’t get too obsessive about calories, is my only advice…it can drive you insane and ends up giving the food more power over you anyway. 🙂 ❤

  2. I tried it once on a typical day for me and found that I was consuming around 1800 calories which I thought was about right. That was until I entered all of the my activity on an average day and found I was under eating by 1200 calories! I was shocked to say the least.

  3. I discovered that I was under eating pretty much all the time. I guess I substituted liquor for food for a good stretch in the past. Eye opening for sure.

    As for healthy eating being expensive, I’ve found that it helps if I go grocery shopping every 2 or 3 days and buy just what I’m going to eat in those few days. It helps to cut down on waste, which saves me money. I’m also a fan of buying whole vegetables and washing/cutting myself, but that only works if you have the time.

    Glad to see you’re having fun with it!

  4. I have been sooo off my eating plan this past week. I seriously need to get back to tracking what I eat because it’s the #1 thing that keeps me accountable and on track. I know how it can get obsessive with some people, but it’s definitely something I have to do otherwise I fall off track easily.

    You’re doing so great, Melissa! Woo!

  5. I’ve started using my fitness pal lately (even though I swore off counting calories back in January) just because it’s so cool and has a sweet iPhone app! It’s definitely been good to be aware of what I’m putting in my mouth again, especially with all the training I’m doing 🙂

Leave a Reply

