Another post on books

Standard

My taste in books ranges over just about every topic. I mean, there are a few exceptions but in general I’m willing to give any author a chance. Most of my current favorite writers are actually because a friend (or a customer at work) recommended a book to me. If you’re not an avid reader and you don’t know where to start, don’t be shy to take someone’s advice. If they feel strongly enough about a book, you may fall in love with it too. And if you are an avid reader, then still take recommendations! Like I said, some of my favorites were not my own discovery whatsoever.

I thought I might talk a little bit about my top 5 favorite YA authors (which I’ve probably rambled on about already) and in another post I’ll write about my top 5 favorite adult authors. Sometimes I fall even more in love with a particular writer after reading up about him or her. Putting a face and a whole life to a name makes a world of a difference sometimes. Anyway, it was hard enough to narrow this down, so I strongly recommend you give them all a look-up if you aren’t already a fan!

Top 5 YA authors

1. Markus Zusak

 Books:

1. The Book Thief
2. I Am The Messenger
3. The Underdog
4. Fighting Ruben Wolfe (sequel to The Underdog)
5. Getting the Girl (sequel to Fighting Ruben Wolfe)

-I’ve read 1, 2 and 5. I actually had no idea that Getting the Girl was the third in a series and I wasn’t lost or anything, it was just a really sweet coming of age book about love and acceptance.

-My favorites are by far I Am The Messenger & The Book Thief. I think they tie as favorites, because they honestly both changed my life and the way I perceived books in the YA section. They’ve both won numerous awards and I can’t recommend either one enough, regardless of what your reading taste is. Check them out on Goodreads here and here.

-Both of those books are also in my top 10 current favorites. Truly amazing reads, and I can honestly say that I think Markus Zusak is one of the best writers in YA fiction right now. Oh! Also do go follow him on Twitter.

2. J.K Rowling

 Books:

1. The Harry Potter series 1-7
2. Tales of Beedle the Bard
3. Fantastic Beasts & Where to Find Them
4. Quidditch Through the Ages
5. An 800 word Harry Potter Prequel 

– As if J.K Rowling needs any kind of introduction. Unless you’ve been living under a rock, you most certainly know that this amazing woman has dedicated the last 20 years of her life to the series that millions around the world love.

– Her books changed my life, which I wrote about recently here

3. John Green

 Books:

1. Looking for Alaska
2. An Abundance of Katherines
3. Paper Towns
4. Zombicorns (online novella)
5. Let it Snow (co-written with Lauren Myracle & Maureen Johnson)
6. [currently writing] The Fault in our Stars

– You mean you haven’t heard enough about him here and here?

– Everything he writes I want to copy down somewhere to remember another day. I’m constantly favoriting (yes I know that’s not a real word) his quotes on Goodreads & I’ve helped convert so many new fans that it makes me feel really proud, and I can’t tell you why.

– Everything this author does for his fans makes me love his books more. He’s actually going to sign every single pre-ordered copy of his new book. That’s like, hundreds of thousands. How legit is that?

– I’m trying to fill up all the space next to his picture so I’m going to keep rambling. John Green’s books may be one of the reasons that I fell back in love with beautiful literature. I don’t know how else to describe it.

– My favorites are 1, 2, 3 but in no particular order. They’re all awesome!

4. Suzanne Collins

 Books:

1. Gregor the Overlander 1-5 (The Underland Chronicles)
2. The Hunger Games
3. Catching Fire
4. Mockingjay

– Suzanne Collins was the first teen author to renew my love for YA fiction 3 years ago. I used to read it obsessively when I was at the age for it, but then I moved on to adult books when I thought the time was right. Reading The Hunger Games changed the way I perceived teen books again and I was able to discover what an amazing world it can be. A lot of people are super embarrassed when they’re “too old” to be shopping in the younger sections, but it’s honestly AMAZING the books you can find in there.

– Catching Fire is in my top 10 favorite books of all time.

– I cannot WAIT for The Hunger Games movie to come out next year.

– If you haven’t read these yet, I don’t care WHAT you read, you will love this book. I think I’ve met two people who haven’t liked it… Out of probably close to a thousand (not an exaggeration, I’ve been selling the book for 3 straight years)!

5. Ann Brashares

 Books:

1. The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants (Summer 1-4)
2. The Summer of You and Me
3. My Name is Memory
4. 3 Willows
5. Sisterhood Everlasting

– I’ve blogged about her books recently because I just re-read all four Sisterhood books as well as the brand new one (which I forgot to book review) but I can honestly say that those books changed my life entirely. Re-reading them did NOTHING to change that for me, it only renewed my love for these books even more.

– I did not like (and did not even finish reading) The Summer of You & Me as well as 3 Willows. She’s the only author that I’m allowing in this feature to have books that I didn’t like because I so sincerely love everything else she wrote. I have ‘My Name is Memory’ on my bookshelf now and I’ve heard only good things. Also, her books are not all YA, but I still consider her as a YA author above all.

– I’m going to write a review of Sisterhood Everlasting I think, but that was one of the most beautifully written books I’ve read this year. I cried so much reading it, I can’t even begin to tell you. It was so good.

These authors are probably some of the most famous in their field right now, so I may not be teaching you anything new. In that case, I’d like to just mention a few authors that are slowly making their mark in YA fiction (or that already have but just didn’t make the Top 5 cut) and I can’t wait to see what else they come out with: Veronica Roth, Lauren Oliver, Kenneth Oppel [LOVE him. His new book is on my nightstand right now!], Rick Riordan, James Dashner and Jeff Kinney– who I’m way too old to read (seriously!) but can’t help but enjoy his sense of humor anyway.

I think that just about covers it for now, who are some of your favorite authors? Have I introduced you to anyone new that you’ll be reading? I’d love to know! 

** I say the word honestly way too much. Wow. **
6 responses »

  1. I love Ann Brashares novels. She’s one of my absolute favorites. I agree too, some of my favorite authors came through the recommendation of a friend or even a stranger. I’m always happy to give a book rec as well.

  2. Ok I won’t lie, from this list I’ve only read the Potter series. I think I’ll check out John Green’s stuff. Thanks for the suggestions.

  3. I didn’t like Summer of You and Me either. Have you read Collin’s Gregor the Overlander series? I’ve been debating picking them up but I hadn’t heard from anyone who had read them yet.

    • I never read Gregor the Overlander because I’m really not sure about it and it’s her older stuff, not sure if it’s nearly as good as Hunger Games, but I was debating giving it a shot! I’ll have to look up some reviews first and I’ll let you know what I read about it!

Leave a Reply

