My experience with fitness classes (so far)

Standard

I am not an active person. For as long as I can remember, sports and gym classes and just overall exercise were my least favorite things to do. When I was little, my brother would run off to his championship soccer games and I would either sit happily in the bleachers to watch or stay home even happier with a good book.

My mom never forced me into any kind of sports teams either. I know some parents require their kids to do this, and maybe that’s not the worst thing ever, but my mom just wasn’t one of those people. She preferred to let me do the things I love, so she fueled my love for books and writing instead.

I don’t know which situation I would have preferred had I been given the chance, but the point is that it made me grow up to love the things that I pursued when I was younger, and hate the things that I avoided (exercise).

Now that I’m old enough to make my own decisions and figure these life things out for myself, I realize that I can make exercise a part of my life in a way that I enjoy, and not in a way that is forced upon me like in elementary school and high school when I was forced to take gym class.

In an effort to find what my “exercise thing” is, I joined a fitness gym called Cielo Studios with one of my best friends two weeks ago. So far I’ve taken four different classes, basically the four main ones that they offer. The one I’m avoiding is pole dancing (because realistically, no.) but I thought I’d just share my opinions of these classes, from the perspective of someone who would vacuum and do dishes before any kind of physical activity on a normal basis. Okay that might not be true, but still. You get the point.

1. Zumba 

The first class I took was a Zumba class, and I think it nearly killed me. I’m exaggerating obviously, but it was quite a bit harder than I had expected. I kept up pretty well, but the one thing I wasn’t expecting was to not actually be able to follow the dances. The teacher was lots of fun however her choices for dance moves were a bit tough, especially for an uncoordinated person like myself. There were a few moves that I just had to wait out because I genuinely had no idea what she was doing, but the ones that I did gave me a really great work out. The hour FLEW BY and before I knew it she was ending the class and I was like wait, what? Already? I would definitely do that again. I think what I need is to do the same class over and over again until I can follow all the dancing, and then it would be the perfect work out.

2. Boot camp 

The morning after Zumba, I hauled my sore butt back to the fitness center for the class I was most scared about. I honestly, genuinely without any exaggeration here, nearly passed out halfway through this class. I took a good 5 minute break because the work out was just too much for me. I wasn’t sure if I even wanted to finish, but I knew that if I could just get back into it I would feel so amazing after. I was 100% right. I think I was in an easier boot camp class, but thank God for that because I felt like she worked us really hard. Some of the moves were actually so amazing and while I was doing them and slowly dying from the inside out, I was thinking to myself that this is going to hurt a whole lot tomorrow. But in a good way. And was I right or WHAT.

3. Yoga & Meditation

I took this class 15 minutes after I finished boot camp. My friend and I thought it would be a good idea to relax our muscles a little bit and give yoga a shot. I actually really enjoyed it, although it was really hard on my muscles. They already felt super overworked and some of the poses in yoga you have to hold for a couple minutes and I had a lot of trouble. I never realized just how strenuous yoga can be if you’re not flexible enough for it. What I did learn from yoga though is that I really want to be more flexible and I want to take more time out of my schedule to do these kinds of work outs. I left there feeling really great about myself after 2 hours of pushing myself really hard, but I was tired as hell.

The next day I could hardly walk, but that’s besides the point. It’s my own fault for denying myself exercise for so long.

4. Hot Yoga 

I think this may have been my favorite class. I was expecting to like it the least out of them all, but it was the greatest experience ever and I’m just looking for another day to go back. It’s been two days since I took this class and I’m still feeling the burn through my abdomen and the backs of my legs. I felt SO amazing after leaving and I knew it was a much better work out than I realized, without all the unnecessary feelings of wanting to throw up/pass out/curl up in a ball. I mean yeah, you sweat a whole lot, but leaving there I’m pretty sure I’ve never felt better.

Final verdict on fitness classes so far: I’m loving them! I’m always pumped to get there and see what it’ll be about, and the time ALWAYS flies by. I feel amazing afterwards and it boosts my motivation to eat healthier. Plus after a good work out all I want to eat is something really good, so that helps.

I also think that it’s important to choose a good studio. I really lucked out with this one I think. I don’t know much about fitness studios but I know that the teachers at mine are really amazing and they take the time to talk to you, get to know your name and they’re just overall super friendly. The atmosphere is also incredibly inviting. It’s so calm and peaceful, plus they serve this amazingly delicious tea in a gorgeous room before and after all classes. If it wasn’t so expensive I think I’d get a membership there for good, instead of this one month unlimited thing!

What are your fitness class experiences? Any favorites? 

15 responses »

  1. I absolutely love the fitness classes at my gym. I’ve been to Body Pump (circuit training), Spin classes, Body Combat (a karate-type class), Body Attack (serious high-intensity cardio. Almost died after that class), and Body Step. I think my favorites are Spin and Combat but you’re so right that the instructors make all the difference!

    I’ve done Zumba a few times but it was at a community rec center and I didn’t get a good workout at all. I always left feeling like I didn’t get the workout I needed. So I haven’t gone back. My SIL does it religiously and loves it so I know I should try it again, but somewhere else.

    • Your gym offers so many cool classes! I’d totally try body combat or spinning if they offered it, but they don’t have that many different options yet where I’m at, I guess because they’re still pretty new. That’s the other thing, they’re so expensive and they don’t offer enough choices!

    • Hahaha that is just the greatest acronym, PiYo! I mean I know it’s a pretty basic one, but I like how it sounds 🙂 I really wasn’t a yoga (or pilates) fan either, but this gym is really turning that around for me so far!!

    • Yoga was a lot of fun! I’ve seen a bunch of guys doing it and really enjoying it. It’s a little bit hippie-ish with all the strange names for the poses and that kind of thing, but you leave feeling really great!

  2. We don’t really have classes around here. I’ve been dying to go to Crossfit but there isn’t a facility nearby! I’ve heard great things about bikram yoga.

    • That’s too bad that you don’t have anything near you. I’ve never heard of Crossfit, but if you ever get the chance definitely try Bikram yoga. I can’t wait to do it again this week!

  3. I REALLY want to try hot yoga, but as you said, places that offer it tend to be expensive. I have a gym membership discount through my job, and they offer a great variety of classes. I’ve tried: Body Attack (and nearly died), Spin (serious leg workout), Body Flow (Yoga, Pilates and Tai Chi mix–really great class), Yoga, & Pilates. I’ve never been an exercise addict, either, but I love yoga and I will at least try any other class. I may be trying Body pump tonight, we’ll see when I get to the gym. I’m trying to get into this Couch to 5K thing, but I can’t do it outside; it’s too darn hot! Have fun with your continued fitness ventures!

    • Body flow sounds really fun, and I’ve ALWAYS wanted to try spinning. I wonder if I’d be any good at it. You seem to be doing really good with exercise these days too, so good luck to you tooooo!!

  4. Yay for Zumba! I’ve been doing it since May and I love it! I agree, once you get the hang of the routines, it’s so much better. I felt so embarassed the first few classes b/c I would go right when ppl were going left, I was up, they were down. But now that I know the dances, I can concentrate on doing them well and getting the most out of the hour. I definitely think it has a lot to do with my weight loss. I did Bikram Yoga twice but my heart just couldn’t handle the heat. 😦

    • I’m definitely still trying to get the hang out of it, but way to go on doing it for so long now!! Today was my 2nd class actually and I liked it even more than the first time. I think I would keep going if my membership didn’t expire in two weeks! I’ll have to figure something out.

  5. Pingback: Seven Links « Press Play.

  6. I’m obsessed with Bikram Yoga! I got a coupon that was $20 for unlimited classes and I’ve taken 9 classes so far. The first two classes nearly got the best of me, but then I felt I turned a corner on class 3. I can actually feel myself getting stronger and making little adjustments in the postures, which is super cool.

    Way to go you for being so awesome and taking so many different classes!

  7. Pingback: Friday Five « Press Play.

Leave a Reply

