Seven Links

Standard
Sidenote: I’ve got a new blog background! It’s a new WordPress theme, but when I saw it I immediately loved the bright colors. I usually prefer simple themes that I won’t get tired of, but I couldn’t pass this one up. So until I get my blog re-designed (maybe in the fall?) I think this one will do! Yay!

There has been this incredibly fun post going around called Seven Links which I mentioned yesterday that I wanted to be a part of, but had yet to be tagged. Today, as I read through my Google Reader, I was happy to see that it finally got back around to me and the lovely Stephany tagged me! I’m very excited to legit be able to fill this out & share some of my favorite posts with you all, perhaps some that go further back than the days that I commented and shared my blog with everyone.

These are the categories I’ll be identifying posts from:

  • Your most beautiful post
  • Your most popular post
  • Your most controversial post
  • Your most helpful post
  • A post whose success surprised you
  • A post you feel didn’t get the attention it deserved
  • The post that you are most proud of
Your most beautiful post

Cell phone photo of me & my friends front row in 2009 I believe

I don’t know if these necessarily count as beautiful, but certainly two of my favorite posts were written long before I shared my blog with anyone but my close friends. There’s this one on Happiness (or why it is that I do what I do in the music industry) and also this one called ‘Remember When?‘ that I wrote in October 2009 when I was feeling nostalgic for my concert life that was starting to slow down.

Your most popular post

This one actually kind of bothers me because it’s hardly a post at all! One of my first interviews with CONFRONT magazine was with a screamo/hardcore band called Pierce the Veil, and when my interview finally went live on the website I was very excited to share it! (being my first and all) The post is literally just a picture and a link, and it has nearly 3,000 page views. I guess the band has a lot of fans, which I should be happy about!

My second most popular post is my 31 Day Picture Challenge: Day 1. It has just about 2,500 views which I wasn’t expecting AT all. I think it’s probably just people who searched up the list for the challenge, because that post still only has one comment!

Your most controversial post

I’m by no means a controversial writer, but I suppose my post on Music Piracy would be my most controversial. Everyone has different views on piracy today, and when I shared mine I got a couple really interested comments about it!

Your most helpful post

I don’t think I’ve ever written a post that is directly helpful to anyone. I mean, I’ve written about my own experiences with things that people may be curious about (fitness classes, healthy eating, balancing school life & work life), however actually helping another blogger, not sure. I would have to say that this book review on The Happiness Project would be the closest to helping anyone. Not only was it a fantastic read, but it helped me, and I hope that if anyone takes my advice and reads it, it will help them too.

A post whose success surprised you

I wrote up my Summer Reading List back in June and was really surprised with the attention and success it received. I guess I wrote it so that my readers could have some good suggestions when they were feeling inspired to read, but then blogger Danielle featured it in one of her ‘Friday Links to Love’ post and it got a lot more page views than it would normally have. I love (love!) sharing book recommendations with people so that was a lot of fun.

A post you feel didn’t get the attention it deserved

I’ve never written on my blog expecting to get comments or attention from anyone. I started this blog LONG before I even knew there was such a world that existed. In the last year or so as I started to read more blogs, I’ve gained readers and I guess with time more people have begun to comment on my posts. I usually get a couple comments on all my posts now which is so great, but I never expect any. That being said, just two weeks ago when the last Harry Potter movie came out I wrote a post about my experience with the book series that changed my life and I didn’t get any comments at all… I think that was one of the first times I was surprised only because I know so many people are huge fans.

There was also this post that I thought was a lot of fun to write & read from other bloggers, but didn’t get much attention, but it’s a bit older so I wasn’t as surprised! I just happened to come across it through my research for this post.

The post that you are most proud of

In late June I wrote a post called ‘On…Waiting‘ that I am very proud of. I wrote about my struggles with forgiveness and and the struggles I went through to learn how to truly forgive and move on with my life. I very rarely write such personal posts because I still have trouble sharing that kind of stuff for everyone to read, but I think that was a step in the right direction, if I choose to continue writing more personal posts.

Here are the five people I’m tagging to do the post… And if you DO complete the challenge, link it up here so I can read your answers!

1. Jen from Almost Grown-Up
2. BonjourMissMary from Bonjour, MISSmary
3.  Caitlin from To Make Love Stay

If I didn’t tag you but you’re reading this and want to do it, consider yourself technically tagged and I expect a link to your answers! Thank you 🙂
16 responses »

  1. It’s always cool to look back and reflect on what you’ve done so far, I find it helps you focus again on where your going. With only 18 posts on my blog I haven’t got much to look back on and will save this for another time.

    • Yeah, it took me quite some time to sift through my 4 years of archives… Phew! You’ll get there though, you’ve just started your bucket list adventure! 🙂

    • Thanks so much for stopping by! I’m working on a list of posts to get new readers started, I realize it’s kind of hard to figure out what’s what when there are 4 years worth of posts on here. Glad to have you reading, though! I’ll definitely check your blog out too. 🙂

    • Thanks girl! By the way, I saw you wrote up an NKOTBSB post and I had to mark it as read for now… I’ll be getting back to it next week once I’ve gone to the show too! I’ve been avoiding reading any re-caps at all because I want the whole thing to be a big surprise lol 🙂 I’ll probably have some fan-girling comment to add to it just before I leave for my trip, ha!

  2. I like the idea. I saw Elle do it the other week. There are several posts that I’ve spent a lot of time on and thought were really interesting that got no love and I hate that my most popular post is “How to Smuggle Alcohol onto a Cruise Ship” 😛

    • I just BURST out laughing!!! Your most popular post is WAY more entertaining than mine… You should totally write your own Seven Links post! I was going to tag you, but wasn’t sure if you wanted to do it because I know you mostly just write about accomplishing your goals.

  3. Pingback: Frolicking in Wine Vines | BONJOUR, MISSmary.

  4. Love the new layout, it’s super cute and fresh! Your post was just what I needed to get the ball rolling on this week’s tardy post…yikes haha
    But as requested, here is my response to your 7 link challenge! http://www.bonjourmissmary.com/?p=592

    I can’t believe you have been blogging for 4 years! That’s amazing! It was hard enough looking through all my posts for the past two months hahah

    • Haha you just wait until you’ve got a whole year’s worth of posts, not even FOUR. It’s a ridiculous amount of writing, I hardly remember what I’ve got stored away in my archives anymore!

  5. Thanks so much for the tag. However, I’m a bit scared about what I’ll find in my blog archive if I start digging. I’ll be sure to share with you, when I start digging. 🙂

Leave a Reply

