Guest Post: Laura from ‘From Jasper With Love’

Standard

I’m so happy to be able to introduce you all to one of my only real life friends turned blogger! I’ve known Laura ever since I’m 7 years old I think- sometime in elementary school anyway. We were friends throughout high school but really only became close in the last few years when the two of us along with 3 of my other best friends became inseparable.

Laura moved away to Jasper, Alberta in October last year and life here in Montreal just hasn’t been the same without her. It’s been a very long year, but luckily we’ve got things like Facebook, Skype, blogs and of course her random visits back home to keep us going!

I was so happy when she agreed to write a blog post about her new life now that she works in the hotel industry at the other end of the country. I miss her every day, and it was a lot of fun to have a little look into her daily life when she sent me this. You can follow her adventures through her blog and her twitter!

Hey Guys,

I’m Laura the 5th member of this cray DAHFA crew that Mel keeps referring to. I’ve missed out on the epicness that is DAHFA & I miss them every day. I’m 22 years old, pretty much the loudest most out going person around. I’m sarcastic & sometimes it comes off as rude, even though thats just how I am. People either like me or they dont, theres no real middle ground & i’m pretty much alright with that. I am who I am & wouldn’t change it for the world.

My friends mean the absolute world to me and I wouldn’t be the person I am today if not for them and putting up with all my crazy antics. Music changed my life, as did traveling. The first time I took off on a plane I was hooked and I knew that I needed to spend my life jet setting around the world. Summer is my season, everything about it screams LAURA. I’m a little trigger happy when it comes to taking pictures. I’m almost ALWAYS plugged into my ipod & it keeps me sane. Thats pretty much the basics of me.


I currently live in Jasper, Alberta & thats where I’ve been living for almost 10 months now.
Why may you ask did I decide to pick up my life & move across the country to a somewhat desolate place like Jasper? Well I landed my dream job. I work for Fairmont Hotels & Resorts. I am a Royal service agent for the Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge. Pretty much a glammed up title for the hotel operator/”do everything & anything to make guests happy” agent. We get crazy guest requests and deal with insane shifts, but at the end of the day I adore my job. A crazy day in the life of an FJPL Royal Service Agent can sometimes go like this..

Me “Good morning, thank you for calling the Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge. This is Laura Speaking how can I assist you today?”

Guest in room 400 “Uhm hi (laughter in the background). I had, sort of uhm a strange, possibly, a question maybe you can help us out?”

Me “I’ll do the best I can mam”

Guest in room 400 “we were wondering if you knew where we could get some uhmm (more laughter) dancers?”
*picture me with my jaw on the floor trying so hard not to burst out in mass hysterics.

Me “sorry mam dancers? I’m not sure I can do that, you could try the yellowpages”

Guest in room 400 “oh well do you or your friends have the name of one that you’d recommend?”

Me “unfortunately no mam, sorry I couldn’t be more helpful. have a lovely evening”

& thats just a normal kind of day in the life of an RSA. It does get a little bit boring, but the craziness balances out the boredom. Living in Jasper has been quite the life changing experience. I moved 3800 km away from everything & everyone I loved to do a job I’d never done before. & honestly so far so good. Sure I’ve had my meltdows & my “I NEED TO GET OUTTA HERE!” days, but i’ve also had the “I love this place so much” kinda days too. This is what I’ve wanted to do for the last 6 years & i can’t even believe I’m doing it. If someone had told me last summer I’d be working for Fairmont & living in the rockies I would’ve laughed and said “oh yeah? maybe one day”. Well here I am living in the rockies, turning into a west coast girl the longer I spend here & loving every minute of it. This was the industry I was born for & this is what I want to do for the rest of my life.

Leave a Reply

