Guest Post: Jennifer from Scarlet Wonderland

Standard

Since becoming a more avid blogger & reading more blogs, some of my favorite reads have become life listers. These people are INTENSE to put it lightly- they are all constantly accomplishing goals that I could only dream of!

Jennifer is one of my new favorite reads- her blog is filled with her crazy adventures while she accomplishes her bucket list and I’m always smiling or laughing at the things she posts.

Don’t forget to go see her blog Scarlet Wonderland, or you can follow her on Twitter. I seriously enjoyed her guest post- it’s funny, well written and, well, I do love a little blog praise! Thanks again for writing something up for me 🙂

One of the things I love about Press Play, is Melissa’s love of literature. As a child I would settle down with a novel packed with adventure and hope one day to have my own. As I have grown up my passion for books seems to get pushed further and further back in my list of priorities as I find myself with less and less time. Melissa however, constantly inspires me to read and through her posts I feel like my own love for books is reignited.

So following Melissa’s lead I thought I would introduce the newest addition to my library, An Idiot Abroad: Karl Pilkington’s Travel Diaries.

For anyone who doesn’t know who Karl Pilkington is, please PLEASE watch An Idiot Abroad, The Ricky Gervais Show, or even just this clip. Karl hates being out of his comfort zone, so reading his deepest, darkest thoughts on each of the seven wonders is hilarious.

As a Bucket List Blogger, I have the joy of choosing my own adventures, unlike Karl who, forced by SKYone, Ricky Gervais and Stephan Merchant, has some of the funniest, revolting and crazy experiences imaginable.

The mental thing is, some people would give ANYTHING to do some of these strange things. So… in true Karl style, here is my ANTI-bucket list: things I have seen on many other people’s lists, that I hope NEVER to do before I die…

  • Eat authentic food in Iceland

Sheep’s heads… ram’s testicles… poisonous sharks? Remind me again WHY people would subject themselves to this? I’m all for the ‘when in Rome’ attitude, but come on, this is taking it a step too far. When I travelled to Iceland as a moody teenager I had margarita pizza… I avoided food poisoning and certainly didn’t come home thinking “Oh I wish I’d have been dead cultured and eaten some cock and bollocks while I was away”.

  • Run a marathon

When I was ten years old I got forced to run the 400m at a school sports day, half way round my mum ran onto the track with a bottle of water because I had gone bright red and she thought I was about to collapse – she ran right to the finish line behind me to the sound of the crowd (including the boy I desperately fancied) laughing. I think it’s safe to say it was the most embarrassing day of my childhood. So you see, I’ve never been one of these people who run. In fact I tend to take an immediate dislike to those chirpy ‘morning’ people that get up at 6am to ‘run to get rid of stress’. If anything running makes me more stressed. I would put myself through a lot of crap to raise money for a charity I love, but replacing my Saturday morning lies for blistering feet, sweating in the rain and the embarrassment of people seeing my Pheobe Buffay run in public… can’t I just jump out a plane or something instead?

  • Swim the English channel

Very similar to the previous item, except with this we have the added issue that I would, without a shadow of a doubt, drown. That is an actual fact, In fact I struggle to understand how people don’t drown. As you can imagine I’m not much of a swimmer either. Put me on a lilo with a paddle in one hand a cocktail in the other and I might consider it.

  • Wake up on a beach

Just to clarify, this is a lot different than going to sleep on a beach… whilst sleeping under the stars may be a beautiful, romantic experience… waking up on a beach is a whole different kettle of fish. Waking up on a beach only means one of the following things…

1) You passed out there, which probably means you drank far to much and will arrive home to some horrific video footage that your friends will use to blackmail you with for the rest of your life.

2) You washed up on a random shore… in which case the waking up on a beach part is probably the least of your worries and, depending on where you are, things could potentially get a lot worse. Fast.

  • Throw a Dart in a Map and Travel Where it Lands

Yes I can see the romantic idea behind this, but when you have a pile of cash ready to take you on an adventure, do you really trust your aiming skills not to end up somewhere completely shit wondering why you didn’t just go to Disneyworld?

  • Eat snails

No.

  • Become a princess

Everyone has been talking about the ‘fairytale’ story of Kate Middleton… that and Pippa’s tiny tush! But jokes aside, never again will Kate be able to have a remotely controversial decision, a political stance or a tub of ben and jerry’s again in her life… I’d rather have fun with some frogs thank you very much…

4 responses »

  1. Girrrrrrrrrrrl, have you have read my mind! I have a post going up in 2 weeks about waking up one morning on the beach. I’ll have to check this series out. Sounds…inspiring??

Leave a Reply

