Guest Post: Jen from Almost Grown Up

Standard

It’s no secret that I love reading, so when I first started talking to the lovely Jen from Almost Grown Up, we instantly got along! We’ve got such similar tastes in books, it’s just crazy.

It’s no surprise then that Jen wrote a post for me about her love of books, and I can relate to this so much. Belle from Beauty & the Beast was always one of my favorite Disney Princesses (no one beat Jasmine in my mind, I was an Aladdin fan always!) but Belle was very close behind. Enjoy her post, and thanks again Jen 🙂

Hi everyone! I’m so excited to be guest-blogging today for Melissa! Like Melissa, I love to read and I know of one other girl who loves reading just as much.

Belle.

Most little girls that I knew loved Beauty and the Beast for reasons different than my own. They liked to sing along to “Be Our Guest.” They’d eye their dishes and wonder if they, too, had been enchanted once. They envied Belle’s mirror or her pretty yellow dress.

I was jealous of Belle too. But not for her dress.

No, I wanted her bookshelves.

As a kid, I loved to read. Well-behaved, some of the few times that I remember breaking the rules or getting into trouble involved books. I’d hide under covers with a flashlight after bedtime, sneak books out of my teacher’s classroom (Sorry, Ms. Pierce), and when sent to my room, I would yell “FINE! I’LL JUST READ!”

I was a shy little girl, but I loved going to other worlds via a good story, and like Belle, I mastered the art of walking while reading.

…Well, sort of. I tended to run into a stray pole every now and then, but other than that, I was pretty good.

My love of reading continues on today and I’m sure Belle’s does too.

So don’t overlook Belle. There’s more to her than her love of a hairy man, her provincial life, and her looks that have got no parallel…

Homegirl’s also got her dreamy far-off look and her nose stuck in a book.

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Guest Post: Jen from Almost Grown Up « Press Play.

Leave a Reply

