Greece: Santorini [In Pictures]

Standard

After spending a long & tiring (but amazing) weekend in Mykonos, we got on this tiny ferry-boat thing that sped us straight to Santorini in about three hours. We hardly saw it go by as we were all fast asleep. Before I knew it, we were getting off on an island that has been a dream vacation spot for me for the last 8 years or so. It’s just one of those places right?

I’ll hold my stories for another post, but for now I want to share the beauty of this place with you. Well, I’d like to try. You really just need to go- it’s one of those places EVERYONE needs to visit. You’ll be standing in the city center and you take one turn and you’ll be staring down into the Caldera- middle of the island where the volcanic island sits.

My ferry on the right hand side, this was my first view of Santorini in the early evening

Corner- our favorite breakfast spot in the city of Fira. SO. YUMMY! (stay tuned for a post on food to see what I ate there, mm.)

Shopping along the ocean front in Fira

Stairs everywhere you go! The one downside to an island on a high cliff.

Santos Winery for our first Santorini sunset. The winery sits at the very top of the cliff overlooking the Caldera which you can kind of see in the distance.

A better idea of our view from our seat at the winery…

The setting sun over the Caldera

What the sky looks like the moment the sun disappears. I know, crazy right?

The ridiculousness of the 600 stairs that leads to the dock to get to the boats for the excursions. Imagine hundreds of donkeys running up and down and hundreds of people either walking or on their backs. RUN FOR YOUR LIFE.

So I climbed a volcano, you might remember I mentioned that a few times? I’ll write more about it in another post, but this is the view of some of the hills we had to climb to get to the very top (the less steep ones, let me tell you). It was AWESOME.

Oia, Santorini. ❀
We came one evening to watch the sunset, and I love that you can see everyone sitting on the walls to watch too. It’s a pretty popular thing to do.

Β Me in Oia (pronounced Eee-ah. I did not know that until Greece either, trust me.)

A blue church picture in Oia? Well that’s just classic.

White Beach, which coincidentally was actually white cliffs with black sand!

Red Beach. Also, only red rocks but the sand is black. Hmm.

Is there a better place in the world than your feet in the ocean? No I don’t think there is.

The four of us on our last night in Santorini. You can tell we all got some sun right?! My friend on the left is Irish so trust me when I tell you she’s quite brown for her πŸ™‚

Santorini is just as beautiful as you see on the internet, but there are also a lot of things that you never see. I’m excited to WRITE more about my trip, but I had to get the first round of pictures out so you all have an idea how I spent my time there. Going back through my albums every day is making me so sad, you can’t even imagine. It’s crazy when you stay in a place for just 6 days and you feel like you’re leaving a new home.

Have a great weekend!Β 

Have you entered my giveaway yet to win a care package from Greece? It ends tomorrow soΒ enter right here!Β 

19 responses »

  1. Gorgeous pics! I’ve never been to a beach with black sand. I would love to visit! It looks like you had an amazing time. I can’t wait to read/see more from your trip!

    • The funny thing about black sand is that it’s actually SO hot, at one of the beaches you can’t walk around without shoes on because it literally burns you! I’m telling everyone this but you reallyyyy have to visit if you ever get the chance πŸ™‚

    • Haha that’s so true! It’s not like that everywhere, but islands like Santorini and Mykonos are only open during tourist season, so they’re VERY English. On Kefalonia you couldn’t even find a person who spoke English, let alone a sign!

  2. Four months later, I feel the exact same way when I look a pictures from my cruise. Sigh.

    It must have been AWESOME to see all the sights you saw in pictures in real life! These pictures are so beautiful. I have never really wanted to go to Greece, but your pictures are changing my stance!

  3. Pingback: Greece: Santorini [In Pictures] (via Press Play.) « orangetwilight

  4. Visiting a black sand beach is on my list. I’m thinking Santorini would be an amazing place to complete that goal! I’ve wanted to visit there for a long time now so I’m uber jealous of you.

  5. hello guys im from Santorini in Greece i love it that someone likes my island if u ask me i think that is one of the most beautiful places to visit on earth…i hope that u enjoed your stay and visit Santo ‘sagain…..especially OIA it is not so far known but it’s the best is the most beautiful village on the island!!!!Thank you for visiting greece

Leave a Reply

