September: A Review

Standard

The picture above? Exactly what September looked like in Montreal. Rain, rain rain rain. I better start seeing some fall weather next month, or else! I want breezy, crisp autumn mornings- not hot and humid rainy ones! Anyway moving on…

This month was… interesting, to say the least. But not in the actual sense of the word. Like, if I could choose on month in the year as the least interesting of 2011, it would probably be September. Is that awful? Probably. Maybe coming off a trip to Europe isn’t the best way to set this month up, but on top of that I went back to work 3-4 days a week, school a couple days a week, a ton of homework & a heart that wasn’t in any of it. So I set up some goals for myself in the hopes of getting myself back on track.

I’m not sure if my goals necessarily got me where I need to be as October comes rolling in, but I’m definitely planning on getting back into the hang of things for REAL next month. September was a bit of a setback but luckily there’s always next month to make things better. More on that tomorrow when I set myself up with some new goals!

Here’s what this month’s goals looked like:

1. Get back into a fitness routine: Not completed. I really wanted this to happen, really and truly. I thought about it so often it hurt. The problem is that I just can’t afford a fitness routine right now (AKA a gym membership or any sort) and I’m really not sure how else to get into an actual routine. I’ve been thinking of starting the 30 Day Shred again, maybe that 20 minute work out every day will get my heart back in a good place. This month was a total fail.

2. Number 31 on my 101 list: spend a whole semester in school without procrastinating homework. Not completed. I thought about this goal every day too, but I just laughed at it. No way that was going to happen whatsoever. I procrastinated worst this month than I have at any other point in my life. Not sure what was up with that but I didn’t like it one bit.

3. Read 4 books throughout the month. Completed! Thank God I was able to do at least one thing, am I right? Here’s what I read…

– Just Kids by Patti Smith
– 13 Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson
– Last Little Blue Envelope by Maureen Johnson
– Night by Elie Wiesel

I’m technically counting this goal as done even though that first book I read half of it in August. Whatever. I’m getting my reading groove back & that’s really what I wanted.

Also: I highly recommend ALL the books mentioned above. Highly. All of them. Yes. Go read now.

4. Complete a random goal on one of my lists and blog about it. Completed! I blogged about #1 on my 23 Before 23 list as well as #17 on my 23 Before 23 list. I want to incorporate my lists more into my blog as I move forward. I feel like they’re becoming so much more of who I am than I could have imagined and I love writing about the goals I complete. I’d love to do this more often for sure- it was a lot of fun & received so much great feedback, so thank you!

5. Start saving money again. Completed! I’m saving very little right now, mind you, but saving nonetheless. I’ve started making automatic transfers into my University account for now because I had the awful realization that I don’t have enough to get me to graduation. Scary. It’s not the kind of saving I wanted to be doing by the end of the month, but I’ve got lots of bills to pay & that saving is important so I figured it took priority. *Technically* still counts though!

This month I also… 

– Attended  my sister-in-law’s baby shower. So exciting! And now she’s less than ONE MONTH away from her due date. Just unbelievable.

Me and mama when she was just 4 or 5 months pregnant…Time flies!

– Blogged NINE times about my trip to Greece. Technically ten, but one of the posts was tips I learned about travelling and I suppose that doesn’t really count. But still, how on earth did I find 9 full posts to talk about?! That is just crazy. You can read all of them over here.

– Took a vow to be more honest & to blog for the right reasons. And honestly? I was so nervous at first about deciding that but now I am so happy. My first truly honest post ‘Confessons of a Single Girl‘ got more comments than any other post I’ve ever written & more views in a week as well. So thank you. Thank you for all your really sweet comments & for being understanding & not totally judging me.

– Got to see one of my favorite bands live again for the first time in over a year. I’ve seen The New Cities OVER FORTY TIMES NOW. I’ve blogged about them so much it’s unreal. They’ve been the one constant in the four years I’ve held this blog. You can basically find them in weekly posts in 2009 because that’s how often I saw them. Anyway, they released their 2nd full length album this month and I’m so proud to have seen them go this far.

– Found out another one of my all time favorite bands, Augustana, broke up. I’m coming to terms with it but I’m still so devastated. Ugh.

– I also just entered in a giveaway over on Steven‘s blog Hundred Goals to win 100$ cash. For real. This guy is offering up a hundred bucks to any blogger to fulfill a goal they have in life. How neat is that? Go check out his blog & enter his giveaway if you’d like. You bet I did. Also leave him a comment on a post. He loves comments.

13 responses »

    • And just to clarify, it’s open to anyone! Not just Bucket List bloggers. The only “rule” is that the comment must be about what people want to do, their goals, dreams, aspirations. I think everyone has at least a few things they’d like to do!

  1. I love coming to your blog because you remind me so much of, well, me. Okay, not me exactly, but I’m always reminded that I’m not alone in any of it. Like, singleness. And school + working (and making it all work out). And my obsession with listmaking, though I have a hard time keeping up with my lists. And, I might love watching TV a little too much.

    And I learn some things too. I love getting new music and book recs (LOVE the Gavin DeGraw song you posted).

    That’s a lot of “and”s. Sorry about that. Happy October!

    • That comment just made me smile! I love getting to know people who are similar to me like that… Makes me feel like I’m not the only crazy girl trying to make things work out there. 🙂

  2. It was so hard for me to figure out a fitness plan when I was working and going to school, especially since I couldn’t afford a gym membership either.

    I know here we have OnDemand, where you can find TONS of fitness videos (everything from Jillian Michaels to yoga to stretching). I used that a lot before. Plus, running/walking is free! I just restarted Couch to 5K, which is a great program to get you started. Oh, and if you want a kick-ass circuit training routine, I’ve got one in Google Docs I can share with you. I used a lot of 30-Day Shred and Biggest Loser exercises and used Jillians 3-2-1 method of cardio-strength-abs. It’s killer, ha. I can usually barely make it through. Just let me know! (All you need is hand weights for it.)

    Anyway, the way you felt about September was how I felt about June. Very lackluster and MEH. But it’ll get better, I promise. The holidays are just around the corner and soon you’ll have a baby NEPHEW. They are the best ever.

  3. You have no idea how relieved I am to see I’m not the only one who sets lots of ambitious goals for myself and only completes about half of them. =]
    Good job!

Leave a Reply

