Confessions of a social media junkie

Standard

 

Hello everybody, my name is Melissa and I am a social media addict. I have been for many years now although I think the addiction has been much worse in the last 10 months or so, since I’ve becoming a regular blogger.

Here’s the thing.

I love the internet. I really, really do. Some of my friends avoid their computers, check their Facebook occasionally & are all around really difficult to get a hold of in a technological world where this should not be the case. I am not one of those people. You can reach me in minutes in a variety of ways, and unless I’m out to dinner or attempting to have a few peaceful hours away from technology, I will almost always answer you really quickly.

Here’s the other thing.

I love being addicted to social media. Twitter, FacebookGoogle +, Tumblr, my Google Reader & whatever other websites I am a part of (the ones I don’t check often like LinkedIn) you name it and I love trying it out. I’ve read a lot of posts recently about people who need to step back from technology because they feel overwhelmed and they feel like it’s not good for them, etc. That is FINE, I’m not against that in the least. On the contrary, sometimes I feel the exact same way & sometimes I love stepping away for a bit too. But I hate feeling disconnected for long periods of time.

While I was in Greece, it was a bit of an ongoing joke among my friends. I was the one who needed to be constantly connected, twittering, uploading photos for you all to see. It’s just in my nature to want to feel connected. When I left home for Europe I was afraid to leave for 3 weeks and not be able to check anything for that whole amount of time. I didn’t know what our internet connections would be like, but I didn’t feel ready to give up my daily dose of technology. There were many days in the first half of my vacation where I wasn’t able to check the internet at all, and it was really hard on me.

I know that’s not a good thing, you guys. I mean, maybe in 2011 it’s a normal feeling, but I wish it wasn’t. I’ve begun to realize that the whole *refreshing my e-mails on my iPhone twice an hour* thing while I’m at school is not completely sane. Neither is leaving my e-mail inbox open at all times while I’m home so I can receive e-mails right right away. It’s kind of taking the fun out of receiving e-mails and tweets and Facebook messages when I am literally WAITING for them.

I am a social media junkie and I’m really not sure what I can do to take a step back and re-prioritize my life while still staying connected to friends, family, and bloggers online. Because you see, it’ starting to take a toll on the other parts of my life. I do less homework because I can procrastinate longer on Twitter and WordPress. I get less done at home because I constantly have things to catch up on in my Google Reader & on the other 239383023 million websites I keep up with.

Technology is overwhelming my life and I kind of feel like I’m letting it. 

I don’t know how this happened, but I’ve slowly been realizing it more and more since getting home from vacation. I’m rather well known for not having will-power when it comes to anything, so I’ve sort of been embracing the web and all it has to offer… But part of me feels like it’s starting to take over too much of my life.

So here are my questions for you, if you’re reading this:

Are you addicted to social media like me? How do you properly split your time between your online life & everything you need to do in your real life? How do you decide when to be *unavailable* if at all? Let me know if you’ve got any tips to will yourself to shut down the computer and do other stuff without constantly feeling the need to check what you’ve missed! 

3 responses »

  1. I’ve gotten better at stepping away from the Internet, although there was a time where unplugging felt like tearing off a limb. 🙂 Breaks are extremely good for my well-being (especially when I start placing too much stock in who is – or isn’t – replying to my tweets or commenting on my blog). I know the world won’t end if I step away from it all. Will I miss some news or interesting things? Yes, I will. But it’s not the end of the world. Life will go on and I need to be OK with that.

    Maybe start with shutting down all social media/blogging stuff at a specific time of night and set it aside to work on homework or read or have some type of downtime? I was SO bad at letting the computer help me procrastinate when I was in school. (…and sometimes, maybe while I’m at work. Um. So now I need to get back to actually, you know, WORKING. Oops?)

  2. I am so there with you. I spend 8 hours at work on a computer and then I have several things I have to do at home. One of my goals is to make it 7 days without relying on any technology (thankfully they aren’t all in a row) and I can honestly say it’s going to be a real challenge for me to be able to complete. I’ll share any tips I get if you promise to do the same. 🙂

  3. I find my addiction has gotten worse since I joined FB a few months ago and got a smart phone. I’m checking my reader and FB every hour, which I’m ashamed of. I want to get to a point where I’m only checking two or three times a day. But I do fear the more I blog the more hooked I’ll be with the other social media.

Leave a Reply

