October Books

Standard

This month there have been a LOT of new releases in books that I’m super excited about. I thought that with all of these new books that have hit the shelves I’d write a post on the top books that I’m excited to read & some recent favorites. If you want more information about any of the books you can always leave me questions in the comments, check the books out on Goodreads, or just pick one of them up… Because I know they’re all going to be amazing.

Most excited to read that came out in October [or will be]:

1. Death Cure by James Dashner
– If you’re not reading The Maze Runner trilogy you’re missing out on a seriously amazing teen dystopian series. This is the final book in the trilogy & I’m hearing only amazing things about it!

2. Silence by Becca Fitzpatrick
– This is one of my guilty pleasure teen series. I enjoyed the first two books enough to pick this one up- I’m excited to see what Fitzpatrick does after her mediocre second book.

3. Steve Jobs Biography by Walter Isaacson
– One of my 23 Before 23 goals is to read 10 biographies of people who changed the world. If Steve Jobs doesn’t fit in that category I don’t know who does.

4. Seriously… I’m Kidding by Ellen DeGeneres
– Because I love Ellen and I need a good funny book. I know she won’t disappoint!

5.  Liesl & Po by Lauren Oliver
– I’m a big fan of Lauren Oliver (after reading only one book) and I’ve heard SUCH amazing things about this young readers book. I’m definitely going to pick this up when I get the chance.

A few other titles that I’m really excited to pick up [that came out before October]: 

1. Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin
– YA thriller

2. Wither by Lauren DeStefano
-YA dystopian

3. Forest of Hands & Teeth by Carrie Ryan
-YA dystopian

4. Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare
-YA fantasy

5. Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor
-YA fantasy

The books I’m most excited about currently on my to-read shelf: 

1. The Reinvention of Love by Helen Humphreys
– Adult literature

2. This Dark Endeavor by Kenneth Oppel
– YA adventure/mystery

3. Variant by Robison Wells
-YA dystopian

4. The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness
-YA dystopian

5. Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs
– YA fantasy/adventure

6. Blood Red Road by Moira Young
– YA dystopian

7. Call Me Russell by Russell Peters
– Biography

8. Wildwood by Colin Meloy
-Young adult fantasy/adventure

9. Wonderstruck by Brian Selznick
– Young reader I don’t even know what to classify this as.

10. Matched by Ally Condie
– YA dystopian

What I’m currently reading: 

The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson
– I’m a newly converted Maureen fan and this book is not a disappointment. I’m about 50 pages from the end, so probably by the time you’re reading this I’ll be done the book & probably raving about it!

Survival in Auschwitz by Primo Levi
– This is one of the books for my Holocaust Literature class. I’m about 100 pages in and it is a TOUGH read. Not because it’s boring- it’s anything but boring- but it is incredibly detailed and gruesome.

The Death Note series
– My very first manga series and I am ADDICTED. I’m 6 books through the 13 book series. They each take about 2 hours to get through and I need to finish this very, very soon. If you’re not sure about mangas I highly suggest picking up the first book, just for fun. They’re not expensive and they are REALLY good and twisted and just yeah. Go get it.

10 responses »

  1. First, where do you find all these books? I had a hard time finding new books to interest me. Your list looks pretty good.
    Personally, I can’t read while I’m in school (I’m a first year grad student) because I’ll never want to put the book down. So kudos to you for finding time!

    • Haha I work in a bookstore and I want to work in the publishing industry so I keep really up to date with books. I have no idea HOW I find the time to read with school, but I think I’d go insane if I didn’t so I just make the time for it!

  2. Great reviews – I love reading biographies too. I must look out for Steve Jobs book – I am sure it will be good reading – amazing guy!

    Cheers
    Lorraine

  3. “Wither” & “Matched” are both SO GOOD. If you like these two, you should also add “Divergent” to your list. I adore YA dystopian fiction, & I’m currently reading “The Girl in the Arena,” which is pretty good, but not much compares to those three as far as YA dystopian goes.

    And the Cassandra Clare novels? AMAZING. Once you’ve finished the Mortal Instruments series, try the Infernal Devices, set in earlier times. LOVE them.

    • I’m really excited about Wither AND Matched. I actually looked more into Wither after a post on your blog haha 🙂

      I’ve already read all the Mortal Instruments as well as Divergent when it first came out (SO GOOD! CANT THE NEXT ONE COME OUT ALREADY?)- I was waiting for the Infernal Devices to come out in soft cover to pick it up… I’m so excited! I’ve heard mixed reviews about it, but I can’t NOT read it. I’m also going to look up Girl in the Arena, haven’t heard of that one!

  4. I wish i had your passion for books. I’ve got 2 on my list which is the art of war and the collection of sherlock holmes books. in 3 months i’ve rread the art of war and a handful of the sherlock stories (which are relatively short). even so i love reading about your book reviews.

  5. Argh, I’ve already got a list about a mile long of books that I want to read, and everytime I read this type of thing it grows! Set myself a little challenge that I’m going to post about this week too – let the reading commence!

Leave a Reply

