Muuuusic Time!

Standard

I thought I’d take the weekend to catch up on some good stuff worth sharing, and after writing the post about books yesterday I thought it would be only fair to give new music it’s own day too! Here are a few albums I’ve been listening to that came out recently, all worth checking out, I think!

1) People and Things- Jack’s Mannequin 

It’s no secret that this is my favorite band and that I’d been anxiously waiting for this record to come out ever since it was first announced, but that doesn’t change the fact that it’s quite amazing. I’ll admit it might be my least favorite of the Jack’s records, but it tells it’s very own story like the other two. I’m pretty sure almost no album beats their last one, ‘Glass Passenger’, but what I love about this one is how upbeat it is. It makes me think of lovely summer days spent reading by the beach.

Genre: piano pop/alternative/rock
Rating: 4 stars

2) Neighborhoods- Blink 182

This album, even though it’s brand new, makes me think of high school and growing up, and basically all those things that Blink-182 make most of us think about. It’s pretty classic Blink music. I mean, if you like their old stuff you’ll love this. The first song on the CD ‘Ghost on the Dance Floor’ is so far my favorite. It sets the tone for the whole record and makes the entire thing an easy listen.

Genre: Rock/Pop
Rating: 3.5 stars

3) Siberia- Lights

I’m a bit torn about this album. I’ve listened to it a few times now, and I have to admit it’s growing on me. The first time I heard it I didn’t feel like very much stood out about it. I figured I needed to give it a good chance, so I sat myself down and really paid attention to the songs and now I’m a much bigger fan of it. It’s not anything SPECIAL, and Lights isn’t exactly breaking out of her usual stuff to show fans anything new, but maybe that’s a good thing for now.

Genre: Synth pop 
Rating: 3 stars [but a solid 3, definitely worth checking out]

4) Metals- Feist

It’s basically impossible to dislike Feist. I mean, her music is so calming, soothing, relaxing. You name it. I’m not usually a huge fan of music like this, but I make an exception for artists like Feist. This album got me in a good study groove this week and I listened to it several times without getting remotely tired of it. Easily something I could put on after a stressful day to just decompose.

Genre: Folk/Indie
Rating: 3.5 stars

5) Radiosurgery- New Found Glory

Such a catchy album! It kind of had me thinking of Good Charlotte mixed with a little bit more heavy punk, and maybe a touch of pop. I’m in love with the opening track, ‘Radiosurgery’, which similarly to Blink-182 sets the vibe for the rest of the record which has the same feeling to it. The great about this CD? I didn’t feel like I was listening to the same song for 45 minutes.

Genre: Punk/Rock [and in my opinion a LITTLE BIT of pop]
Rating: 4 stars

Honorable mention:

-Cartel’s new EP ‘In Stereo’, love that band, love the EP!  Good alternative/pop music. I’ve loved this band ever since late high school, they’re just constantly awesome. Check them out!

 What are you listening to these days? 

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

